Alpha Reaction Golf C830.2 Titanium Drivers

C830.2 Titanium

  • Superior Two-Piece titanium construction
  • Super-thin SP700 Ti face insert
  • Oval increased Target Design (ITD) technology face for an expanded sweetspot
  • Large 460cc volume head
  • Highest COR possible while conforming to USGA rules

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Tony   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 16, 2013]
Model Reviewed: C380.2

I've used Alpha's exclusively for aprox 15 yrs. Best drivers on the market. I wont go into (because u wont belive me) how long i've hit the ball with my Alpha's. Point of this review is to compliment the customer service I've received from Alpha. I recently bought an Alpha C380.2 and for whatever reason, the club wasn't performing. I called Alpha and they immediately sent me return slip. Alpha has replaced the club and I couldn't be happier. Love a company that stands by it's product. I'll be a customer for life (thanks Jim Yeh).

Customer Service

Awesome (see review)

Similar Products Used: Been an Alpha man for 15 yrs.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
steve   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 11, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Alpha C8302

I am an inconsistent driver of the golf ball. I recently picked up this club in like new condition with the stock Platinum 65 shaft (stiff) and 10.5 degree head. My fears were that the shaft would be too stiff and I would struggle loading the shaft as there was no info on the shaft available on the net for my average swing speed of 90-95 mph.

As it turns out my fears were unjustified. The Platinum 65 shaft plays less stiff than some regulars I have used, so no problem loading it, but what really surprised me was the forgiveness of the head. My normal miss when I swing too hard has typically been a low pull hook. Instead I only was missing left or right with soft hooks and fades...not bad for staying out of trouble.

I also found the head to be smaller looking than most 460cc heads, and to produce an interesting yet satisfying feel, not unlike the feeling (rare for me) that you really hit a perfect iron or wood shot but yet could barely feel it. If you know what I mean, keep reading. My shot were consistently straight and I could hit a high draw or fade without much problem. Again, given my inconsistency with the driver, we will see how this transfers to the course.

Now for the obligatory "I got 20 more yards" section. I got 20 more yards with this driver compared to my Taylormade R9 460. Now does this mean every shot? Of course not. But this is a very sweet driver when you hit it pure, and given the forgiveness of it, I think I can hit more fairways with my misses too. I definitely recommend you try one if you can get one in good shape. If you are already a high ball hitter (I am not) you may consider getting the head in a lower degree than usual as this shaft probably has a low to mid bend point.

Overall, I am very happy with my purchase. Interesting also is that a golf site could not interpret the word mish*t from the sh*t word. Take care and hit em straight.

Customer Service

Just got the club but it looks well made and i doubt I will have to use it.

Similar Products Used: Too many drivers to list. Latest few were Taylormade R9 460, Ping G10, Cobra S9-1, Cobra LD 5000, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
les greenwood   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 21, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Alpha c 830.2

Simply put this is the best head I have ever owned.
Got tired with all the usuall "top brand"names so I decided I would try something different,I was going to go with smt but after extensive research I went with the Alpha,both smt & Alpha are used by long drivers and have good quality controll.
The head is very well made & beautifull to look at , excelent workmanship, & sets up nicely behind the ball, it doesnt look closed at address & the face is deep which I like, & therefore doesnt look overly big & clumsy at address.
I have the 8.5 degree & was initialy fitted with a G.D. pershing reg flex but I just couldnt get on with it , to whippy, so I changed it for an Aldila nv 65 S flex & now I am happy with it.
I have hit some of the longest drives with this combination & the ball flight is wicked , very penetrating & lots of roll.
So if you are like me & are looking for something different you may want to consider smt or Alpha, its nice to be different, Also I own an Adams redline 430 Quad fitted with Aldila nvs S flex which is also a damn fine stick.
Good luck, Cheers.

Customer Service

na

Similar Products Used: All OEMs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bsc8603   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 25, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Alpha c830.2

Holy cow! What a club! Just stole one off of Ebay for $147 shipped, with the Alpha Platinum 65 stiff flex shaft and man can I rip this one. While I loved my Wishon 949MC and my previous Mizuno MP 001, this club beats em to death! The setup for me is second to none...right out of the gate I felt I could take a rip at the ball and boy do they fly. Have missed a couple off the heel (my usual miss)and they lose about 20-25 yards. I've a 10 degree selcted head and this with the shaft combo launches the ball on a nice trajectory. Somewhere along the line, with the Wishon, I lost my draw and, with this Alpha, it is back and better than ever. While only 5 of 14 hitting the FW my first time out, I was a whopping 13 of 14 today, my best ever, and a couple of them 280 or so (my other clubs produced a max of about 270. I'm an 11 hdcp and not very big...well this driver makes me longer than I've ever been...can't wait to put it all together! This one is a definite keeper! Even at the listed $250-270, this club is worth every penny!

Similar Products Used: Wishon 949MC with Interflex high launch stiff
Mizuno MP 001 with exsar 60 reg, then Prolaunch Blue stiff
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian C   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 25, 2007]
Model Reviewed: ALpha c830.2

Holy cow! What a club! Just stole one off of Ebay for 147 shipped, with the Alpha Platinum 65 stiff flex shaft and man can I rip this one. While I loved my Wishon 949MC and my previous Mizuno MP 001, this club beats em to death! The setup for me is second to none...right out of the gate I felt I could take a rip at the ball and boy do they fly. Have missed a couple off the heel (my usual miss)and they lose about 20-25 yards. I've a 10 degree selcted head and this with the shaft combo launches the ball on a nice trajectory. Somewhere along the line, with the Wishon, I lost my draw and, with this Alpha, it is back and better than ever. While only 5 of 14 hitting the FW my first time out, I was a whopping 13 of 14 today, my best ever, and a couple of them 280 or so (my other clubs produced a max of about 270. I'm an 11 hdcp and not very big...well this driver makes my longer than I've ever been...can't wait to put it all together! This one is a definite keeper! Even at the listed 250-270, this club is worth every penny!

Similar Products Used: Wishon 949MC with interflex stiff...Mizuno MP 001 with Exsar reg, then prolaunch Blue stiff, Snake Viper TI4, with stiff TI4 shaft (my buddy loves that one, so I gave it to him).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
leftygolfer39   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: C830.2

205836.1

I recently picked up a 9.5* Alpha C830.2 (titanium model) from a fellow GEA'er and installed it on a UST Proforce V2 (75 gram model, x-stiff). I know the Alpha head isn't one of the newest driver heads out there but after reading some reviews on it, I couldn't pass up giving it a try. The V2 was SST Pure'd by Golfsmith and the driver was built to 46" as I seem to struggle with shorter drivers.

First off this combination looks great. The black head really looks good on this shaft and eventhough the head measures in at 460cc's it sets up looking a fair bit smaller than my 440cc Taylor Made 580XD. For those that really like a deep face driver, the Alpha definitely fits that bill.

The reviews I read on this head were bang on. This head is very long. The ball jumped off the face and seemed to want to carry forever. The trajectory was quite high but didn't balloon at all and like I said the ball just didn't want to come down...it just wanted to carry and carry some more. The sound isn't all that bad...a little louder than my 580XD but with distance like that I'm willing to get past that. I found the Alpha to be quite forgiving as well, which is a good thing as I don't seem to be playing much lately.

The V2 is a great shaft too. The dispersion was pretty tight and the ball flight was predicatble. I was able to feel the shaft through the entire swing and didn't find the shaft to be as boardy as some of the earlier Proforce offerings.

My misses on this day were due to poor swings and not the driver itself. So far, this thing is very long and very forgiving. I can't get over the ball flight as the ball just didn't want to come out of the sky and carried on without any ballooning at all. I was definitely getting some serious "GEA distance" with this combination ;)

This is a great combination and I would highly recommend it. I've been searching for the right combination and I have to say that if this type of performance holds up this driver may stay in the bag for some time.


Customer Service

Haven't had to use it yet but have been in touch with employees from Alpha and communication is great!

Similar Products Used: I've pretty much hit all the OEM drivers out there and the C830.2 is in the bag to stay.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ctjoe   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 23, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Alpha C830.2 Ti Driver

I have the 460cc, 9.5*.Installed a Aldila NV55 S-Flex shaft, Spined and Floed at 45.5". The ball comes off of the face with a solid feel.A boring trajectory with a lot of roll. Very accurate and forgiving, I can honestly say that I picked up an extra 25 to 30 yds on my drives.I would highly recommend this head to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
PhilFan   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Alpha c830.2 Plasma

Let me just start off by saying I had no interest at all in trying out this driver. I only know the Alpha name because they're very popular among the Long Drive competitors, and -- being that I'm just a regular golfer trying to hit fairways -- I assumed that my needs were very different.

Still, I happened to be hitting balls off the range at a nearby golf course and noticed a "Horsepower Golf" van, which is a custom club builder that uses Alpha club heads among several others. Out of total boredom, I took an Alpha c830.2 onto the range and... wow: the club felt great, it sounded great, the balls flew high, straight and far, and I was hooked.

I recently bought a Cleveland HiBore -- which I absolutely love, don't get me wrong -- but I came back the next day to hit a whole bunch of the different Alpha drivers (the c830.2 Plasma is just the newest version of the c830.2 Titanium driver that's been out for awhile now). I have to say, all these clubs are so good -- the c830.2 has a 460 cc head, while the V2 has a smaller but still forgiving head -- that it actually made picking a favorite almost impossible.

What's very helpful is that the Horsepower van has launch information available after each swing so that you can monitor your results with each club and shaft. Ultimately, I chose the c830.2 with an Aldila NV65 shaft, but I would highly recommend that anyone interested in the best drivers out there test-drive a bunch of the Alphas to see which suits them the best.

These clubs also happen to be less expensive than the big-name drivers out there. I can honestly say that, even being extremely happy with my new HiBore, I couldn't resist picking up a new Alpha. It's that good.

Customer Service

Excellent. They're very committed to building you the right club, as opposed to simply selling you a club.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 540XD
Taylor Made r7 460
Cleveland HiBore
Tour Edge Exotics
Alpha V2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TJFOUNDER   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 26, 2006]
Model Reviewed: alpha c830.2

The Alpha C830.2 is as solid a driver as you could want. It has a muted solid feel like the Taylor 510TP. Alpha clubs are big on the long drive circuit, but the higher lofts with normal shaft lengths will match or exceed any driver on the market today. I have access to and have hit just about any retail or tour issue club configuration. The alpha clubs have a 2 inch bore and will tighten up the shaft. I have a 10.5 with a NIPPON 500 GT shaft inserted all 2 inches in the head, with a club length of 46.5 inches. I high a high straight ball that draws slightly at the end. Its the longest driver Ive hit to date, and with no loss of control , exceeds any performance you could expect.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bigdaddy25   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 06, 2006]
Model Reviewed: C830.2

WOW, want more distance, get an alpha. theses clubheads are unbelievably long. You cant put raw distance into words. get an alpha discover the secret to longer drives

Customer Service

Amazing service, from people who produce amazing clubs

Similar Products Used: Nothing compares to an alpha, hit one and find out
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com