Mizuno MX500 Drivers

Mizuno MX500 Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

  • Titanium body
  • X-Sole design
  • Large carbon fiber composite crown

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 53  
[Jul 05, 2022]
gasielennie410j


Strength:

A couple range trips and my first round out weren't encouraging, but I loved the way it set up and when I hit it, it was long and dead straight. I played around a little, choking up a little on the grip and slowing my swing considerably to let the clubhead work. It was like night and day. | pool sweeping walnut creek

Weakness:

None . .

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 12, 2010]
Explorerfl
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: MX 500

I played the MX 500 10.5 degree for a year. It has a Aldila 65 gram reg. shaft. From the beginning, I could hit my 3 wood as far. Finally, after one year, the crown cracked. I've never seen that happen on any club. I think it's because of the dissimilar materials used for the face and the crown. I tee the ball high and tend to hit it high on the sweet spot. My guess is that the combo of the club makeup and my hits brought out the flaw in the club. I'm back to using my titanium driver and out distancing my 3-wood. If you must have it, look for a deep discount.

Similar Products Used:

Big Bertha. Titelist

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 22, 2010]
Gary Richards
Shoots in the 70s

I've been struggling to hit my graphite shafted R7. Basically, my bad shot in my bag was a 'block right'. It isnt the driver's fault as I have had 5 previous driver's with graphite shafts where I have done the same. Recently I purchased a Mizuno MX 500 12.5 Degree driver with an Exsar 50 shaft. My pro advised me to consider putting a steel shaft on it with 1" taken off the tip to (stiffen it up). Having hit it for 6 rounds my handicap has dropped to 5 and I love the way I feel when I step onto the tee as I know I'm going to knock it 250 down the middle with a slight draw! This is an excellent club - but I would also recommend a 'fitted' steel shaft to all single figure golfers. Remember golf aint about strength - its about control!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 05, 2009]
ajbutler13
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX 500

I'm still adjusting to this club, but I like it quite a bit. I have the 10.5 degree model with a Grafalloy Prolaunch Blue shaft and the combination is quite good. I hook drives from from time to time, but that's not the club's fault (the face angle seems fairly square). When I put a good swing on the ball, it takes off -- high, fairly long, and straight. Not a bad sound, either, considering the composite bits and pieces.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Tour Edge Bazooka Geomax, La Jolla 450 Ti, La Jolla Knife, TM Firesole, Wilson Deep Red

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 03, 2009]
DC
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: MX 500

I have been struggling with my equipment that are roughly 5-8 years old. Most notably, my swing speed has decreased to a point that I needed regular flex shafts.

I went on a shopping spree and bought 2 drivers: Mizuno MX 500 10.5 degrees and Nike SUMO 13 degrees. I also got Mizuno MX 950 iron sets (all regular flex).

I have played roughly 10 rounds since I moved to Florida and my best score was 93. Half of my rounds were over 100.

Since I received my new golf set, I have shot 85 and 80. The lower score is a combination of new drivers and irons.

Here's the comparison of the two.

Both drivers are much better than my old Taylormade 360 9.5 deg stiff, which I can't confidently swing any more. I still have both drivers in my bag because I'm still testing both out.

I found MX 500 to be straighter than SUMO. With 13 deg loft, SUMO carries farther (I think). So if a tee shot requires accuracy, I use MX 500. If I need to carry trouble, I use SUMO. It has worked out nicely so far.

As for MX 500, I hit several shots off center, but it still goes straight with less distance. It's very forgiving and will keep the ball in play. If I miss hit with SUMO, it would probably travel more than MX 500 but it would be unplayable. far but

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 22, 2008]
Hacker1
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX %00 Driver

I purchased a new Mizuno MX 500 driver on ebay. I have never been able to hit a driver even with my most recent lesson. I took this to the range and began hitting straighter consistent shots. I then went to a challenging course that I had never played before. I shot a career low 43 on the front and a 53 on the back (not the Drivers fault). I broke 100 for the first time. My ability to get off the tees with this club attributed to my score. I have the original Exsar 50 shaft which forces me to take an easy swing. I beet the other three in my party by 10 or more strokes and even won some skins money. I am definitely glad that I purchased this club and would reccomend it to anyone.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used:

Taylormade Burner, Hippo, and Walter Hagen

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 22, 2008]
thepiratedoc
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX500

Hit every big stick in the pro shop and settled on the MX500 with factory NVS 65-R shaft. What a honey!! Great feel, nice mid/high trajectory, good sound (unlike a hammer hitting a metal telephone pole!). The G10 and TM Tour Burner were close seconds, but as MX500 was a demo I got it for $100 vs. $300 for the others. I may re-shaft my Launcher 400 with the NVS R-65 and put them head to head. Interesting thing to me was I hit all the drivers about same distance. Callaway, Ping, Titleist, Taylor Made, Cobra, Mizuno, Cleveland -- no 'hot stick'.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 15, 2008]
flushem
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX 500

The most forgiving and longest driver ever. I got this baby with Fujikura Fit-On 360 stiff on ebay for $100. This baby beats my Cleveland Launcher 460 w/ Prostaff blue stiff all day long.

I hit balls on the heel but I consistently drove 250+ yarders. With good swing, I drove 280+ yarders. My swingspeed is about 105 mph.

I love the mid trajectory. balls roll farther and longer. Also, I like the little heavier weight feel. It generates bit muted sound that I am gonna have to get used to.

Similar Products Used:

Cleveland Launcher 460, Nike Sumo SQ2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 21, 2008]
Patrick
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno 500

Stock shaft, even S, is way too weak. I put a Fujikura 360 67gr. With the 9.5, this baby flies. Club face a little strong so feedback a little hard. But constantly hitting over 230 yard carry so...Dispersion isn't too bad. But be careful: it's a player's driver and little mistakes in the swing when you want to work the ball can costly. Over all, second best to the Cobra HS9 9.5 with Irod shaft though!

Customer Service

Mizuno stock shafts are to be changed. Lot's of choices if you choose a good pro-shop.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 07, 2008]
Rick C
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX500

i was able to buy this MX500 for $38 including shipping w/only 20 drives on it w/headcover (ebay), SO HOW COULD I PASS IT UP? I was using a perfectly fine Cobra SS-350 stiff. The MX500 came with a stock Exsar 50 regular shaft that i found to be much to whippy. the club head lagged so far behind that everything would bend to the right. not wanting to dole out big bucks i found a once pulled exsar 50 stiff shaft locally for $30 including insallation and a new grip,again how could i pass that up? so i've invested a whopping $68 into this Mizuno MX500. now i am looking for a deal on a top shelf stiff shaft to have installed, Fugikura, 'cause w/the stock exsar50 stiff i am driving 20yrds further easy. I can drive it low,med or high can also bend it right to left which puts a smile on my face. Believe me when i say that it has been well worth the $68.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

Cobra SS-350 was my latest.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 53  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com