Nike Forged Titanium 400CC Drivers

Nike Forged Titanium 400CC Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

Larger, more forgiving. Torsional Ti (Titanium) weave shaft-added stability and enhanced feel. 46 inch shaft. .350 tip for added stability and enhanced feel. forged titanium, 3 piece construction.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 24  
[Nov 03, 2008]
donyv
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: nike 400cc 9.0* x-stiff

not a bad club,the harder you swing the less distance you get.i agree with those of you who also stated this..the factory nike x stiff shaft is a little soft.if you take a smooth swing and hold a little back this club is staight down the middle.however i don't like to hold back ,found it ceaper to replace this club then buy a new shaft.won this for only $10.00 .just purshased a 410 ignite with aldila shaft that i hope will work for me

Similar Products Used:

callaway big bertha II

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 24, 2008]
Dave Logan
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Nike 400 cc Driver

Bought the driver used but in very good shape. I like what Nike did with the 400cc head and it promotes confidence at address. Have only used it once but drove better than I have in months. I like Nike equipment and the forged club face will stay a force in club making!

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

taylor made

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 31, 2005]
kevinjk
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Nike Forged Titanium 400CC

I bought this driver off ebay for $80. And I'm glad I did. This driver is very forgiving and the huge hit makes for better contact. At first I didn't like the stock shaft but after practice i got used to it. I hit about 210 compared to my beginners set 190. I'm am 14 years old and I am bidding for the 5 wood right now.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 30, 2004]
ace
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: nike forged titanium 400cc driver

I have always been a taylormade kid of person, being that my coach always suggested it. At 15 years of age, Ihave always loved my driver, however lately my drives were giving me trouble, pulling to the left, hitting it fat... I decided that taylormade was no longer working for me after my swing alterations. Having heard great things about nike, I purchased the Nike 400cc titanium driver, than I got a custom shaft, stiff(my s.s is 90-100)and took it to the range. Man was it good! With a 95% swing, the ball went around 275-290 yds. I was able to work the ball with ease, and play a variety of shots. The stock shaft is a little too whippy, but with the proper shaft, it works great. I would recommend this driver to anyone, from high to low handicapper.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

Taylormade Burner 420

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 19, 2004]
neon77jj
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Nike 400 CC Forged Ti

Stock Stiff Shafts are not stiff enough After Reshafting with a Graphite Desgin YS-6, this club is finally putting the ball where it should. forgiving as hell, and able to work the ball nicely both ways with HUGE head, its a steal for anyone looking on ebay or any used shop. Distance has not increased since old driver, however accuracy has. Still, like someone else said - 95% swing = 290 yards 100+% swing = 250 yards This club is for a smooth swinger that can effortlessly stroke the ball and play a long drive consistently, but is looking for forgiveness and control without sacrificing the ability to work the ball. Very pleased after shaft upgrade, Paid 59 on ebay for club and 45 for new shaft.

Customer Service

gamespeopleplay is a great reseller of used equip

Similar Products Used:

Every Driver on the Market in Oct of 2004

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 28, 2004]
panther702
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Nike Forged Ti 400cc 11* Reg

This is an awesome driver and consistently the longest driver (even @ 11*) I have ever used (although the SMT Nemesis and Taylor Made R7 are very close) and I have used many (see similar products used below). I took up golf 4 years ago (shot in the 140's then) and after reading hundreds of reviews and owning every driver you will see listed below I find some reviews hard to believe in some of their claims. For the most part I have found that there is not a large gap in distance between quality drivers that is until recently. What works for one person may not work for another. You have to find the driver that works for you but I must say that balls shoot off the face of this driver like a rocket--high, long, and penetrating and without a whole lot of effort. I shoot in the high 90's and have not missed with this driver. Who said the sweet spot on this driver was small? More stunningly is the accuracy I have enjoyed with this driver. Only my Taylor Made R7 has been more accurate (another driver I have read is not for high handicappers). My SS is 95-100 mph with a moderately fast tempo and other reviews have said this driver needs a smooth swing to be effective but even when I have stepped on it this driver has performed with distance and accuracy even with the stock fuji regular flex shaft (however I do get a tad bit more draw with it when I step on it). On a couple of toe hits I hardly lost any distance at all. With other drivers my distance is usually in the 240-250 yd range (except the SMT Nemesis and Taylor Made R7). With the Nike I am consistently 15 yards further. The only reason this is my back up driver is because I do hit the R7 with a little more accuracy (tighter dispersion)but not by much. I have a Grafalloy Pro Launch 65 that I have thought about replacing the stock shaft with but the stock shaft has felt so good and performed so well I do not want to mess with success. Picked this up cheap on E-bay for $64.

Customer Service

N/A at this time

Similar Products Used:

In order of distance and accuracy for me: Taylor Made R7 10.5*, SMT Nemesis 10*, MacGregor V-Foil 410 10*, SMT 455 Deep Bore 10*, KZG Gemini 10.5*, Snake Eyes Fire Forged Compressor 10.5*, Cleveland Launcher 460 10.5*, SMT Shinnecock 10*, Snake Eyes Power Link 10.5*, Golfsmith Hi-Cor 9.5*, Dynacraft Dynafire 9.5*, Calloway Biggest Big Bertha 9*

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 12, 2004]
Terry O'Connor
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Nike 400cc Ti

The Nike 400cc ti driver is the best I have used to date. Great distance and unsurpassed forgiveness is it's forte. What more can you ask for? I like to experiment with drivers in that I will usually have my current favorite driver in the bag and match it up against a different driver. If the newer driver outperforms the favorite, than it replaces the favorite and goes in my bag, Well, I have been trying to knock the Nike 400cc ti out of my bag but can't seem to find another driver that compares to it. (see below for the other drivers I have put up against it within the last year). I haven't tried the newer Nike Ignite but newer isn't always better! These beauties can be picked up on Ebay for about $100 right now

Customer Service

Haven't had to contact

Similar Products Used:

During the past 14 to 15 months I have matched the following drivers against my Nike 400cc driver. All drivers listed have underperformed the Nike. Titleist 975 JV-S, Titleist 983K, Adams 363R, TaylorMade 580XD, Ping Tisi Tec, SMT Nemesis, KZG Gemeni, Dunlop Loco Pro, Callaway VFT, Integra Graph-Ti, Golfsmith Hi-Cor.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 01, 2004]
gpenegar
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Nike Forged Ti 400CC

I bought this driver simply because of price. The club is very good looking. The grip, shaft, head, and headcover all look first rate. I've been playing a Taylor Made R540 driver and have been considering a slightly larger head. I picked this club up for $100 on ebay new. I just returned from the range. I took my whole collection. A SMT Nemesis with a Harrison Striper J, a SMT Spectrum with a Apache 58, a Taylor Made R540, a Callaway C4, and a Titlest J driver. The new $100 Nike beat them all. I can honestly say that the Nike felt the best, the ball flight was what I'm looking for, and it was at least 10 yds longer than the other longest from my collection (the SMT Spectrum). The Nike stock shaft (I think it's made my Fujikura) in still flex felt great. The 9 deg. head really gave a hot feel. If you can find one for $100 as I did, jump on it. It's a great club.

Customer Service

Don't know.

Similar Products Used:

Listed above.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 13, 2004]
tommorules
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Nike Forged Ti 400cc

Bought this driver based on research/ reviews including this site from a UK auction site. I wanted a driver with a slightly shut face to compensate for my normal fade. I opted for the 9 degree stiff, stock shaft. My Previous driver was a Wilson 400cc 9 degree Deep Red Powerfit with Fujikura stiff shaft. 4 out of 10 times I would belt it out of the middle 270 to 310 yards straight, 2 times a push right and the rest were snap-hooks. On the right day it was a great club, but over 5 months I found it too unreliable. Well the Nike was a revelation! So easy to swing, played 5 rounds to date including my first round at the Belfry (78 on the PGA course - phew!) where I only missed one fareway with it. The key with this club is to let it do the work. A 95% swing results in a 290 yard drive. A 100%+ drive sees a 260 yard fade. 290 yard straight I can live with!!!! 2 criticisms: 1. Given the slightly closed face, I can't (yet) hit a draw with it. 2. It is a little boring to look at, much less impressive than the equivalent Ping or Taylormade. Critisicisms aside, for any sub-18 handicapper with around a 100 mph swing I would heartily recommend it. I expect at least a couple coming off my handicap soon. (Oh no, golfing gods, I didn't mean it!)

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used:

Great Big Bertha 8 degree stiff Wilson Deep Red Powerfit 9 deg stiff A hippo something I snapped a long time ago...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 18, 2004]
humbo777
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Nike 400

PAY ATTENTION TO THIS REVIEW! I consider myself to be quite the equipment afficionado because I pay attention and I am unbiased. Anyway, this journeystarts via a Nike 350 with the Stiff Nike Fijukura. This driver has been the absolute longest driver I have ever his by FAR. Want to know why? The shaft...It's a piece of garbage. There seems to be such an emphasis on distance that all these "knowledgeable club fitters" encourage everyone to play a softer flex. This is where the problems start in my opinion. I have traditionally played a strong stiff or an x. The reference shaft I have always used are the Tour EI-70's (Tour S and Tour X). Anyhow...I was getting much length but steadily started loosing accuracy and beleive me when I tell you I shoot in the 80's constistenly instead of the 70's because of the binds I get myself off the Tee. Decided it would be cheaper to sell my 350 and go to a 400 with a custom shaft. Everywhere I asked I would get the same response...use an S-Flex because the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. No so when you can't hit it remotely close to where you intend to hit it. Finally I got in touch with the guys at Grafalloy and the encouraged me to go to a 44 1/2" set up with their Graffaloy Blue which tend to play quite a bit stiffer than traditional S-flex's. NOW PAY ATTENTION...Incredible is the difference. The stock Nike shaft is so spongy and mutes the feedback from the clubhead. This single change of shaft has turned this into a super driver that sounds better and you can actually feel what you are doing. The best part is you hit it much straighter. The purpose of this review is to emphasize how GREAT these Nike drivers are IF YOU PUT THE RIGHT SHAFT AND FLEX IN IT! Better than the Titleist J's and the Taylor Mades. I have hit the 983E and it feels like an oversized 275D which is quite a compliment as the Titleist 275D is by far the best driver ever to some out. Just the facts...my swing speed averages between 110 and 115 so you can adjust accordingly. If you swing over 100 the you should be playing a very strong stiff if not an X in most shafts. Be honest with yourself when it comes to how far you actually hit the ball because that is all a club fitter or a sales rep has to go on whenever he suggests your clubs. All in all this 400 will stay in the bag for quite some time until the New Ignites start selling cheap. I am truely amazed at how many bad reviews I see about the Nike Driver...FOLKS...It's not the club that will makes the swing its vice versa....it is simple physics...your swing path dictates it all. Get fitted right and please find the right shaft flex options so you can accurately assess equipment. If you cut the ball the solutionis simple...go to a club whos set up is a couple of degrees closed (Callway VFT's in the higher lofts) or one that is heel weights and draw biased like the Titleist 983K and 975J and JVS! I would suggest a more rationmal approach....learn to swing the club correctly to begin with and you can play anything you want.

Customer Service

NEVER HAD TO USE IT!

Similar Products Used:

Titleist 975D, J, JV-S, L-FE Callway Hawkeye Pro Series Taylow Made 510 & 580 MacGregor V-Foil 340 and 410

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com