Orlimar TriMetal Plus Drivers

Orlimar TriMetal Plus Drivers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 42  
[Sep 23, 2012]
Bruce F
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Orlimar Trimetal Plus

Having the original Trimetal, which yields very long yardage (like, the longest driver I own, despite advances in technology), I had an opportunity to pick up a Trimetal Plus. I figured that Orlimar made the face higher to accomodate shot-shaping for better players. With the sole weighting and maraging face one might assume that the club would hit similarly long as the original design. In practice, this doesn't seem to be the case. While it is a good club and performs very similarly to KZG Maraging Power, Armour 845s Ti and Ping i3 (drawing from my own experience), it does not carry nearly as long as the shallow-faced original design. That said, I would say that the original Trimetal would be a difficult club for shaping shots, but a great club for the straight driver seeking to hit the middle of the fairway. What the Trimetal Plus lacks in distance it gains in working the ball.

Customer Service

None sought

Similar Products Used:

Ping TISI, Armour 845FS, Armour Persimmon 845, Titleist 975J, Orlimar Trimetal (orig. design)

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 02, 2007]
Deebaba
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Trimetal Titanium 440cc

Definitely the most disappointing driver ever made by Orlimar... does not have the consistent distance,direction nor the ball flight or forgiveness that typify Orlimar drivers as one of the best in the market. On some shots there will be the long ball that goes on forever but this is few and far between.Most of the time it either delivers high cuts or else dives left in a most ungainly fashion... very disappointing! :(

Similar Products Used:

Orlimar Hipti(all 3 versions - 300cc 8.5*,315cc 9.5* & 340cc 10.5* - all amazing clubs!), Trimetal II 350cc(also excellent) & the newer 440cc Hti(great club as well!)

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 04, 2003]
orlimar
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: orlimar trimetal + 9 deg

What a club, what a bargain !This is longer and straighter than my old Steelhead plus, and makes a lovely sound, not missing many fairways - can power fade the ball 270 - 300 plus. Do not see many in England, but as I have the 22 deg fairway wood, I thought that I would snap this up. Only criticism is the length of shaft ( too long by an inch if you are 5'10') and the relatively thin grip, now changed for a golf pride tour velvet midsize. I wonder if a proforce 65 stiff tip would provide more control than the std rapport firm flex. All in, a great buy - cannot see me changing for a while - also bought the small headed trimetal irons for $200, and they are great as well.

Customer Service

not yet required

Similar Products Used:

22deg fairway wood - wonderful Callaway steelhead plus 9 deg - hooky Macgregor v foil 305cc - awful, s--t!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 27, 2003]
Kim
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Orlimar Plus 9.5 driver

I used to own this club with an EI-70 tour stiff shaft. I always hit it extremely well. Then I started playing around with other drivers (TM300 series , Callaways , etc.) and could nver hit any driver as consistantly as the Orlimar Plus. I think the smaller head (185 cc) makes the club much more workable. I bought this latest Orlimar Plus off eBay this winter & installed a Fujikura Vista Pro 70 stiff-flex shaft in this club , and WOW !!! It is long , long , long !! It has the sweetest sound , and feels so pure. I'm officially turned off by the big-head drivers , and finally feel comfortable again off the tee with a driver. I plan to stock up on this combination for the future ... this club will be in my bag for good.

Customer Service

Haven't needed them yet.

Similar Products Used:

TM300 series , Firesoles , Callaway War Bird , GBB , BBB , Srixon , etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 26, 2002]
wwt
Shoots in the 90s

Trimetal+ With stock rapport stiff flex. good price ,good quality, most important, good results. Fantistic.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 03, 2002]
B
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: orlimar trimetal plus 18 degree stiff

by far the sweetest fairway metal to hit ever to roam the earth!!!!This club has the looks, the solid feel, but metallic click (music to my ears), the forgiveness, and the ability to hit it high and far out of extremely difficult lies. I could hit this club easily off a cartpath, serious! The shaft is real nice.. the ei70... its good looking and sinces it's modified to be lighter for the orlimar head... it's real easy to swing. I'm fourteen and pretty weak... but with this club in an 18 dgree model, i can hit it 200 dead straight, high and land it soft... the value is great too... i found this club for 90 bucks brand new... if u want the best fairway metal eve made... look no further... get one today...(hey... for 90 bucks, i still had enough to buy pro v1 balls... now that's another story) god i love this game and this club will make u love it too.

Customer Service

none needed... but i bet it'll be good

Similar Products Used:

callaway steelhead... callaway greatest big bertha

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 02, 2002]
al krol
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Orlimar Trimetal Plus

Originally owned the Trimetal. Hit my drives straight but way too high (usually 215/220 yds). Lost a fair amount of distance. Bought an 8 degree, EI70 regular flex Trimetal Plus in an effort to lower my drives and gain more roll/distance. With my swing speed of 90/92 mph, even a EI70 regular flex shaft, coupled with the 8 degree was too stiff of a shaft. I replaced the EI70 with a Rifle Graphite, 5.0, mid-kick shaft. I couldn''t believe the difference. The ball explodes off the club face and now I''m hitting a much lower drive, getting the roll, and have added 20/25 yds. While the head is nice and feels great, the shaft makes the difference.

Customer Service

never been an issue

Similar Products Used:

Steelhead

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 26, 2002]
Marc Postlethwaite
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Orlimar Trimetal 10.5 Degree Driver

This Club ROCKS!! Recently purchasecd a Nikent GH 360 forged titanium driver. With such a big head I almost needed a batting tee to hit the ball. Could not find tees long enough. Thought I would go to the other extreme with the Orlimar because of the awesome price. Have found the smaller head so much easier to control. The ball explodes off the club face and is so much easier to hit with the lower tee position. I''ve read reports of people slicing the ball with this club but that is a direct result of their swings, not the club. Overall a fantastic deal!!

Customer Service

Haven''t had to use it.

Similar Products Used:

Orlimar fairway woods

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2002]
Philip Morgan
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Orlimar TriMetal Plus 8.5 degree Driver

Since posting my earlier review I''''ve changed the shaft to an EI70 Stiff shaft. As I got more accustomed to the driver and began to hit it harder I found that the OEM stiff shaft was not stiff enough. In fact it was more of a regular shaft and as a consequence high slices were becoming the norm. A trip to Tim Liddington at St Georges Hill Golf Club (he works on clubs for a number of the European Tour Pros) confirmed this. Tim recommended the EI70 shaft and it has turned a very good driver into a first rate driver. You can work the ball with this shaft in it.

Customer Service

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 27, 2002]
chachi0079
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Orlimar TriMetal+ 8.5 w/EI-70 stiff

Very hard to find the sweet spot, but if you do, you can hit it long. Nice trajectory with lots of roll after it lands. I tend to duck hook it when I make a bad swing so I would say that it is not very corrective, and its the only club I have had this problem with. I purchased this club to upgrade from the Callaway "ballon" bertha because I couldn''t afford any of the $400+ stuff. Now that I can, I will be purchasing a 975J as soon as I decide which shaft is best for my swing. All I really gained from this driver was about 10-20 yds. and a significantly better trajectory with more roll.

Customer Service

Can''t say

Similar Products Used:

Callaway(they are all crap), King Cobra, Titleist 975D/J, Mizuno Tzoid Ti, TM 360, Cleveland Launcher, New nike

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 42  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com