SMT Golf SHINNECOCK Drivers

Available At:
SHINNECOCK

The Shinnecock features the longest club from heel to toe. This club is so easy to line up, you will wonder why you have been wasting your time with you present driver. Elegant tear drop shaped soleplate leans the weight more toward the toe for the ultimate in solid contact. This club looks fantastic, with a metallic black crown and a unique blue "eye" right in the center, that is carried through to the sole. Absoultely looks as great as it plays. Try it with the AccuFLEX Vizion or Extreme LD. You will be very glad that you did.

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
jeg2   Shoots in the 80s [May 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: SMT Shinnecock 14

The Shinnecock provides the unusual combination of a high degree of forgiveness with no loss of capacity to shape shots. With a Mercury Savage S shaft (and at age 65), it allows me to still pop off some 300+ yd. drives but more importantly, to hit them straight. We play a short (255 yd) uphill, heavily trapped par 4 that I just missed a hole-in-one on--the 14 degree loft just puts it up there and sticks it, avoiding trouble. It's equally easy to draw or fade with this club, although I can overdo things on the hook side. Off center hits mostly lose some distance but don't stray very much; 220 down the middle sure beats 260 into the swamp. Get one (and a Mercury shaft) while they last--both have been discontinued. I build a lot of clubs as a hobby, and the whole SMT line is fantastic.

Customer Service

A delightful company to do business with. They go out of their way to make sure you're satisfied, and the prices are very reasonable for such high quality. Special appreciation goes for how they treat hobbyists like myself who obviously aren't their bread and butter.

Similar Products Used: Adams 800 series, Goldwyn,Wilson Staff, Golfsmith (many).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
inconsistant   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: SMT Shinnecock

Everything you have read here is true. The Shinnecock is long, forgiving and gives immediate feedback. It feels similar to a forged iron in that it instantly tells you when you hit it on the button. However, it doesn't penalize you much at all when you miss one. With all the new drivers and heads coming out as fast as you can read about them, the Shinnecock holds it's own. It's like a good dog, very reliable and makes the best of whatever you give it.

Customer Service

Lifetime warranty from a small guy who appreciates your business. What else can you ask for?

Similar Products Used: Cobra 427, Hawkeye, too many others to list.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kcmiser   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 21, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Shinnecock 14*

An earlier reviewer summarizes my exact experience: "While my 1st impression was not all that spectacular, it was a fun club to hit. I periodically bring it out for fun, and the more I have played it the more I like it. I like it so much now that I am making it my ace driver." The driver is as long as anything else I've played, and goes true to where I hit it. Generally, I feel very in control of this driver. The long shape gives good heel-toe forgiveness without the out-of-control feeling I get with bigger headed drivers. I also get good feedback on my shots. When I slice across the ball or smother it into a low hook, I know before I see the results. With other drivers, I often think I hit a good drive, then see it tail off one way or the other. For some reason, that makes it difficult for me to make on-course adjustments. With the Shinnecock, I can feel what I did right or wrong, which makes it easier to make the proper adjustments. This club is more for those seeking a long, controllable driver with great feel that encourages a good swing but forgives a mediocre one. This club is less for those looking for something to "grip and rip" and bash in the right general direction.

Customer Service

Lifetime warantee, what more do you want?

Similar Products Used: Wilson Deep Red 305cc Taylor Made 320 TM Burner 420 SMT Offset Nemesis (Hook Machine)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
FrozenGolfer   Shoots in the 80s [May 29, 2004]
Model Reviewed: SMT Shinnecock 9*

I couldn't find a reliable driver that I could constantly hit the fairway with. I looked around, first in stores with OEM heads; then I checked on the internet. The glowing reviews on golfreview were too promising to pass up. I purchased a 9* with a Accuflex Vizion shaft at 45 1/4" in Stiff. $79 for the head, $70 for the shaft. I also had a winn classic wrap put on. The Vizion shaft works superb with my swing(105-110 mph); very responsive and just between whippy and tight. With the vizion and shinnecock, I have gained 20-25. Seriously, the only thing you need to worry about anymore is par 3s. Par 4s become chip and putts. Par 5s are 7-8 irons into the green. I have watched my score drop from mid-90s to mid-80s all because of this club. Don't even bother thinking about buying any OEM head. SMT makes a cheap, high-quality product with a LIFETIME WARRANTY.

Customer Service

Customgolfsales.com had good product information and descriptions. My order was here in less than a week. No problems since then.

Similar Products Used: I have used all OEM, KZG, Golf Gear, etc. Nothing is like this club.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
fceast   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 14, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Shinnecock 6*

Purchased a Shinne 6 deg. with a Striper J F/s tipped 1/2". First let me say that I think the striper J is a real sleeper, great shaft. Apparently the Ti threads in the sheet really do work as advertised, very snappy and very tight shiaft. The 1/2" tipped F/S is "too soft" for my swing speed by the charts, but I cannot over load the shaft no matter how hard I try. Harrison has a winner here. Reminds me of a Fuji Vista Tour (not vista pro) in look and feel. The Shinne head is really great. Has a profile that reminds me of an LFE, but has a much "harder" impact feel. Alignment is quite easy, impact is hard, giving a "I just crushed that one" feel. Compared to my Nemesis, I much prefer the Shinne feel. The Nemesis has more of a flexible face feel at impact compared to the Shinne. Trajectory is mid boring, right at or slightly above tree top height, and very very flat. (as it should be at 6 deg) and I am seeing carry consistent with my 8.5 GBB PS but much more roll = much more total distance. I've hit them all, and this head is just as good as the best of the rest.

Similar Products Used: titleist, ping, callaway, clevelend, SMT, KZG, Tour Edge, Nicklaus, ... The Shinne is the champ.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
djebear   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: SMT Shinecock

I purchased the shinecock about 6 months ago. While my 1st impression was not all that spectacular, it was a fun club to hit. I periodically bring it out for fun, and the more I have played it the more I like it. I like it so much now that I am making it my ace driver. With a little practice you can hit the ball where ever you want, almost like a dart. Anyway its a great driver and for the price you can't beat it. Mine is a 9 degree, penley stealth 70 x stiff shaft at 45 inches. Oh, by the way did I mention this thing can launch the ball a long way.

Similar Products Used: Titleist 975d, Taylormade 320, Ping tisi
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
roncjr   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: SMT Shinnecock 9*

In my search for the best driver to fit my swing(Slow and deliberate at the top, powerful and quick through impact. Speed tested at my local Golfsmith 110mph-115mph.)I have tried most of the OEM Drivers and component heads and shafts on the market. I read all the glowing reviews on this site and others and had to try the Shinnecock 9*. I shafted this head with a Harmon Tour Design(UST) FZ in stiff flex 46" in length. With this combo I have gained 10-15 yards and taken the right side out of play. I consistently hit on a mid trajectory either staight down the middle or a slight draw between 280-300(260-270 carry). My mistake pattern so far has been slight pulls of about 240-250 (NO MORE MONSTER FADES!!). This head has a great sound and solid feel. I was going to buy a Golf Gear Tsunami 400cc 9*(A very good driver) for $269 but, decided to try the SMT first. I'm glad I did. This combo is a better fit for me than anything else I have ever tried. It's not leaving my bag any time soon. Why buy OEM?? SMT makes quality products that are superior to OEM Heads.

Customer Service

First rate(Both SMT and IN Golf)

Similar Products Used: Golf Gear Tsunami 360cc and 400cc, Taylor Made R560 and R580, Nike 350cc and 400cc
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pingderek   Shoots in the 70s [May 27, 2003]
Model Reviewed: SMT Shinnecock

Awesome club. I have the 7 degree with the Apache 65N "Orange Crush" S flex. $79 for head, $61 for shaft, and a friend assembled the club for me. I have hit nearly every driver made. My previous favorite was Ping TiSI, but this is my new benchmark driver. I have picked up 15 to 20 yards. There is a reason that SMT Golf dominates the long drive contests.

Customer Service

Quick & efficient.

Similar Products Used: Every Ping, Callaway, Titleist, MacGregor, Cobra, Cleveland & Golfsmith made.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bryan Andrus   Shoots in the 70s [May 10, 2003]
Model Reviewed: SMT Shinnecock

Good looking club at setup with it's pear shape head design. Easy to hit the ball long. Easy worked the ball both ways with this club shafted Accuflex Vizion shaft. Drove to two pars 4 first time with club one at 356 and the other at 350. My buddies hate it when I out drive their $500 drivers by 40 yards.

Similar Products Used: R580, Titan 500, Hippo.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bkresko   Shoots in the 70s [May 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: SMT Shinnecock

I have continued to search for the "perfect" driver. I switch drivers, in many cases, just because I want to try something else. I am tired of trying the name brand equipment. I purchased the Shinnecock 10* with a Harmon Tour Design Shaft. I don't necessarily hit the ball much further than the clubs I have previously used, however, the feel of this club is unmatched. I consistently hit this club between 280-300. It's got a great sound and solid feel. It's not perfect (what club is?), but it stands up to the big names without question!! SMT makes a quality product that should be rated among the best available.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 300, Taylor Made 540, Titleist 975 JVS, Cleveland Launcher.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com