TaylorMade R540 XD Drivers

TaylorMade R540 XD Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

  • Large, 400cc head boasts a larger sweetspot and massive MOI for greater forgiveness on mis-hits
  • Larger, deeper hitting area above the CG makes the R540 XD easy to launch
  • Improved Inverted Cone Technology provides a larger COR Zone that equals higher ball-speed delivered by a larger area of the clubface
  • New sole design optimizes CG placement, resulting in superior launch conditions

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 53  
[Aug 26, 2022]
incremental19


Strength:

This driver is manufactured by golfsmith. customer service is excellent. - Salt Lake City Mobile Truck Repair

Weakness:

None . .

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 28, 2008]
jay frederick
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R540XD

Got this with the factory installed Penley stiff shaft.

First, let's describe my game - think of the 3 Stooges playing golf, I'm Curley, but I don't wreck the "nice lawn" ("See, the pieces are getting smaller....")

My uncle in Tampa convinced me to get rid of my little wussy driver I was using and try this cannon. I have THE ugliest swing in the world (pros have turned to alcohol and drugs after trying to teach me) but slowing my swing down really does translate to greater distance here.

I've always been a "long" hitter but easily drove the ball well over 250 consistently, but my nasty slice (or from time to time really nice straight drive) has been replaced by a MASSIVE hook - talk about bending around the foul pole....

I've checked to be sure this is not built with a draw, so I guess it's still just the dummy holding the club.

If I ever do get it straightened out though, this club will be a honey!!!

Excellent price off of Ebay, well worth what I paid.

Customer Service

No complaints so far

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 15, 2007]
edmiller9999
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: R540XD

I continue to be amazed at the long-term performance of this driver. Mine had an Aldila NV-65 shaft. It's a great club. It's easy to hit deep. Easy to fade. Not easy to hit a draw for me. The one concern I have is that it is not easy to lay off of. I tend to hit a pull or high draw/pull when trying to hit an easy drive. Guess I should just hit a three-metal instead.

All in all, it's a great driver with a great shaft. But, as we all know, the shaft in a driver makes the club, so don't compare a driver with a different shaft to my review.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

Taylor Made R580XD, Callaway FT-5 ... both good drivers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 10, 2007]
Torbman
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade 540XD

Bought this on ebay for $51.00 US. Was looking for a 580XD but saw this and couldn't pass it up. I hit this Driver about 20-25 yards further than my old Cobra Steel Driver. Amazing feel and sounds great. It has a Stiff GDI YS-6 shaft which is the most used shaft on the PGA tour. Don't listen to reviews about distance not being good with this club. I've had no problem hitting them 300 yds with this club. I can't say enough about it.

Customer Service

Not needed

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 13, 2007]
Joe Smith
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: r540 xd driver

i bought the r540xd for sixty-five dollars(shipping included). Its a good club for the price. Don't be expecting any explosive distance. But it gets the job done.

Similar Products Used:

adams

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2007]
ken
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: R540 xd

I really sucked at driving the ball before, but once I got this driver I hit the ball a lot farther. I love it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 23, 2007]
Bonza1157
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R540XD with mas2 stiff shaft

A good driver, great feeling at impact and makes a nice sound different to that of other titanium drivers out there, easy to shape and control, distance isn't to bad either not overly long but you definitely wont lose any distance. However, the stock shaft is horrible, probably too soft for those of you with swing speeds of 105 mph and above.

Overall a good club and could definitely improve your game would recommend it to people with handicaps of 10 and over. And make sure you find the shaft suited to your swing its a big help.

Customer Service

Haven't needed it yet

Similar Products Used:

Titleist 975D, Cleveland Launcher 400, and numerous other no name brands.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2007]
justin reid
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 540 XD

Well i just bought this driver and i love it. I gained at least 10-15 yards off the tee. The ball just shoots off the club face and the sound is so sweet. I saw an immediate change with this driver. With my old driver i would have to swing out of my shoes to get it to go as far as i can hit it with this driver.

Similar Products Used:

Titleist 975L-FE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2006]
thegodfather
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made r540xd 9.5 stiff shaft

I bought this club for £75 after playing two disasterous games with the frying pan golf club known as the K1 speed. I switched to this and straight away my game was back to its usual standard. Very easy to manipulate draw and fade so overall this is probably the best driver i have ever hit. My handicap is +1 and with this club im sure i will get back to my old handicap of +2.

Customer Service

Brilliant guys. Lost my headcover on tour and these guys sent me 3 new ones in different colours for free.

Similar Products Used:

Taylormade r360. Slazenger K1 speed. Taylormade r5 dual and r7 quad.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 28, 2006]
Mason T.
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 540 XD 9.5 deg. Tour Stiff Shaft

I have had a fewer drivers in my time but, this driver is perfect. The feel is great!! With my old Callaway Big Bertha I was lacking on distance (no matter what I did). I got to try this clud at a demo at my local range with many other drivers. With the 540 I was getting the ball over the back net! I even used the R7 but, had better feel and distance with the 540XD. I never thought I woud ever drive to the green on a Par 4. But, I do it all of the time now. This club has really boosted my confidence! I would highly recommend this driver.

Similar Products Used:

Big Bertha 10.5 deg stiff shaft, Nike Ignite 10.5 deg stiff shaft, Liquid metal 9.5 deg tour stiff shaft

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 53  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com