TaylorMade XR-03 Ti Drivers

XR-03 Ti

The XR-03 Ti Driver features a 410cc clubhead. A product of Powerframe Technology, it''s made from high-strength SP-700® titanium with rolled face plate construction to produce a stiffer frame with a thinner, cold-formed face for the highest COR we''ve ever engineered. The improved CAD-optimized head structure offers higher moment of inertia to maintain ball velocity on off-centre hits. Its computer-optimized CG location improves launch conditions for players of average swing speeds by creating a higher launch angle with less ball spin to realize maximum distance and control. An internal weight pad technology enhances sound and solid feel for the desired feedback preferred by most players.

User Reviews (34)

Showing 1-10 of 34  
GolfDunnyGolf   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made XR-03 Driver

Wow..what a Hot Driver from Taylor Made..just picked one up off of Ebay..out to the course I went..this Club is a ROCKET!!

Customer Service

none needed yet

Similar Products Used: most all Taylormade Drivers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan472   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade XR-03

Finally picked up one of these to try.

WOW! 15 yards past my Adams 9015D which I thought was long.

Easy to control and see ya later.

I wish they still made these.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Adams 9015D, Nickent 4DX
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CallyChick   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 23, 2009]
Model Reviewed: XR-03

I bought this driver off ebay and I am so glad I did. This driver feels different than any other Taylormade drivers I have hit. Balls come off the face very hot you can feel it. At hole 11 of my home course, now i hit it over the fairway bunker that i always had trouble with. Yipeee....

Similar Products Used: All Taylormade
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Flukie   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 07, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade XR-03

I'm one of those "inheritance golfers", i.e. I inherited my 10~20 year old set from my dad. I started out with the ancient Callaway Warbird driver, which I could hit around 200 yards assuming I hit it correctly. I got the XR-03 for RM400 (=US$120) in 2006. It's really easy to hit with the big face and all and I noticed a 20 yard increase in my distance.

However, in my rounds I often meet other players (especially single handicappers)who told me to never let go of this driver. They say in their experience its one of the best Taylormade has sold. One guy at the range (also single hand.) offered to buy it from me at RM500, which I refused to. Apparently good golfers are looking for this model even if its 5+ years old.

I'm not going to claim it increases my distance equivalent to that of Tiger! Only thing is if you're looking for more control, cut the shaft down to 44" from 45.5" like I did. Works wonders in terms of center hits.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
charlie   Shoots in the 90s [May 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: XR 03

i am 16 and bought this club of ebay for £30 and could not be happier as this club puts yards on my drives i am now hitting 250 straight down the middle every time and now and then 280. it has brought my game into the hight 80s and low 90s. i know u will think i am lying about how far it is going but honstly it is my short game that is letting me down. this is the best purchase i have done and would reccomend it to everyone!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AJW   Shoots in the 90s [May 05, 2006]
Model Reviewed: XR-03 10'5*

I was getting good results from an Adams GT303 but got the bug for something else and a few more yards so picked up a XR03 on EBay.
I had read all the claims of extra distance and wanted some myself, well I haven’t found it despite the extra half an inch of shaft. Good drives go about the same distance as any other 45 inch driver, it’s fairly forgiving but the extra 97cc despite looking a lot bigger isn’t hugely forgiving on miss hits.
Perhaps I'm just not the market this driver is aimed at the trajectory is a little low for 10.5* the large black head would benefit from an alignment aid to my mind and id happily sacrifice the workability it offers better players for more forgiveness.
The one area where it really scores highly over the Adams is its feel it’s very solid and satisfying but at £500 when it was released it should be.

Customer Service

havent ussed

Similar Products Used: Gt303, Deep Red 305, Intergra Graphite Ti, Hippo Giant, Cally Warbird
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Taximan   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: XR 03

I have had this driver now 3 weeks ... from Ebay ... I didn't write a review until I played at least a few games with it ... I must say I had the Cobra SZ before this and was a great club , then got the TM 540XD and thats ok but a bit high for me at 10.5. This sucker at 9.5 and the non conforming core is amazing ... I hit it normally around the 230 to 250 mark with the other drivers ... this thing goes 25y longer than both and I must say when I connect well on a firm course it can roll on up to the green on some of those short par 4s. Mine has the TM lite60 shaft Stiff ... I am a happy little chappy ... the best part is, it shuts some of my clubs players up for once when I smack it 30 to 50 past them.

My swing speed is only 95-100 so I think if your up for a club that you want to squeeze a little more from, go get one off Ebay as there rare nowdays as I had to get mine sent to Australia from the UK. These are legal here until 2008 I believe but not the US.

Mine was second hand and rate the head,shaft at around 7-10 ... I will put a new good shaft in it soon as the old one may even be holding it back a little bit more I could squeeze out of it.

Get one if you can at the price they where $600 or more US then there easy pick up now second hand for around $100US.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: TM 540XD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Scotsman   Shoots in the 70s [May 06, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade XR-03

First of all let me say this: 70% of the driver reviews are posted by dreamers. I think the shortest drivers are 250+ and they still shoot in the 90's! Don't for one minute believe these reviewers with high handicaps hitting silly distances, they are not golfers,they are circus acts, and would be better off investing in a decent wedge and putter if they want to improve their game. So hear the words of an honest Scot. This is a decent club. If your swing is uncomplicated you will have no problem knocking it down the middle. I have found another 10 yards from my previous Calloway BBB, which takes me to about 250 max. The BBB was easier to work than this but in most cases straight suffices. If you have a consistent slow swing then this club will reward you nicely. Happy Golfing The Scotsman

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
rich   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 18, 2003]
Model Reviewed: XR 03

I got this when my mate upgraded to the 580, i can carry the ball unbelievable distances now it goes high but the wind doesnt affect i had an old BBB 7degree and this carries past that into wind even with different ball flight!!!

Customer Service

never used it

Similar Products Used: Biggest big bertha, R580, R540, Titleist 975j,975jvs, 983k
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Birdman   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 24, 2003]
Model Reviewed: XR/03

I've just come back to the game after 3 years out. Using this Driver with a 9.5 loft and an XR-03 & pro V1x I'm consistently hitting the ball 280 yds. about 40 yds further than I used to before I quit the game. My swing speed apparently is the high 90's. It great to be reaching the par 5's in two but I think I nay need a good 3 wood as it goes too far on dog legs and it's hard to shape with any consistency. I can't hit this off the deck either. But as I don't worry about my score so much nowadays it sure is fun to rip that ball over 300 yards when there a bit of wind or some run on the ball.

Customer Service

No problems so I can't comment.

Similar Products Used: Callaway GBB (too light) 975D(Dead face & no feel).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 34  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT GOLFREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.