Titleist 975 J-VS Titanium Drivers

Titleist 975 J-VS Titanium Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

A tour-proven, 312cc cousin of the 975J. The 975J•VS is the most played Titleist driver on the PGA Tour. The head has been weighted to enhance players who prefer a straight to drawing ball flight.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 32  
[Aug 28, 2016]
Frank Barr
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 975J-VS

I have 2 drivers. The most recent purchase was the M1 driver which I have played with since January in NC. Up until about 3 weeks ago using the M1 was adequate but not great. 3 weeks ago I went back to using my 975J-VS. Since this switch my drives have been consistently in the 260-300+ yards range. I thought having the new tech would aid my game, it really hasn't. Prior to switching my scores have been in the mid 80a. Since going back to my old faithful 975, my scores have dropped and today closed with a 77. I do have it equipped with a BiMatrix shaft, steel in the hands, graphite to the tip which I believe is one he'll of a great asset to this club.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 28, 2007]
jesse.day
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: 975J VS 10.5 R flex

I've shot in the 80-100 range and the lower scores have mostly been on the back of my workhorse driver. That driver is not the Titleist 975J-VS. This driver has a small sweet spot and it demands a finely tooled swing. I bought it hoping that once I got my swing grooved into the sweet spot that I'd be rewarded with extra yards. Truth is that my Cobra SS 350 offset is far more forgiving and longer. Offcenter shots are not forgiven because the club is less radiused and the distance is average. Ball flight is VERY dependant on your angle of attack and even a good speed, square face may end up too low or too high robbing you of good yards. I guess you can work a drive if that's your bag, but I prefer a long straight drive that shaves 220-270 yards off the hole and ends up in the short stuff 9/14 times (my 10 round average) I could probably hit 3 or 4 fairways with this driver. This club never made it off the range and into my bags precious real estate because it doesn't do it for me. On a positive note you can pick it up for about 40 bucks after shipping (Ebay) but why bother. Get a Cobra and hit a long straight drive more often than not.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway VFT
Callaway Steelhead
Callaway Big Bertha
Cobra Gravity Back
*Cobra SS 350 Offset* shwing!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 09, 2005]
juanodonnell
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Titleist 975 J-VS 8.5º

I was playing a Callaway Biggest Big Bertha 9º with a EI-70 t-stiff before buying the Titleist to a friend. I wasn´t a big hitter at all, an average 250-260 yds. Since the change i am averaging (no exaggeration) 270-300. Hitting some 300 all carry. I don't know if it was due to the lighter shaft (original 4565 stiff), or the clubhead, or just the confidence it gave me at set-up. The certain thing is i have improved a lot and gained A LOT of distance. The head felt a little bit heavier than callaway's, but wasn't bad at all. It is said that the j-vs is a draw-biased driver, which i won't deny. It's not much, almost better. I recommend it, though i think you have to be a good an fast swinger to enjoy and take advantage of it. My bas was stolen so i am going to give the 975 L-FE (avoid draw, i hit that pretty naturally) and the 983 E a try.

Customer Service

We don't have in Argentina.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway Biggest Big Bertha

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 27, 2005]
controlled_hacker
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 975 JV-S with Grafalloy Prolite Stiff

I purchased my 975 on E-Bay last year for 50 bucks. I can now with full confidence say that it was a steal. I hit the ball 250-265 yards off the tee dead straight when using neutral drivers, so the draw-bias helps me to pick up a few extra yards with the draw spin. THe forged titanium creates an excellent feel off the tee and the confidence it gives you standing over it on the tee box is second to none. The head combines the distance of some of the larger head drivers with the face-control of many fairway woods. Before purchasing this club, I demoed several drivers (Cleveland 400, Ping G2, etc.) but since I received this I have not tried another!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 29, 2004]
SlaveToTheGrind
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 975J-VS YS-6 Stiff 9.5*

Picked this up off ebay last spring as I have not regularly played a driver in 10 years. I can outdrive most people with my three wood but felt as golfer always striving to get better, that I should have a driver and one I can hit. Great feeling driver and long distance. I play a draw naturally so the draw bias of this club is acceptable except when I really try to jump on the ball I get a nasty hook. I'm in trouble if I need a fade, however. After playing the 9.5* for a season, my trajectory has been up and down, more a problem with my swing than the club. On the whole, I hit the ball a little lower than I like and should be playing with a 10.5* instead. The local golf shop here has marked the 983k/e to $250 so I will be picking up a 10.5 YS-6 stiff from them this week. Culb has great visual appeal. I don't like the large 400-460cc drivers - feels like I'm swinging a VW. The 312cc of the J-VS is perfect. Easy to hit and square up at impact. Muted sound at impact is nice.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Big Bertha, Top Flite Tour, Great Big Bertha, Wilson Deep Red, a few custom jobs

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 18, 2004]
d_poopfreak
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 975 J-VS Fujikura Speeder stiff

This is a great club as I was able to hit most of my fairways but I was not able to swing the Speeder shaft hard enough to load it. My drives were traight but low and not very far. There were many times when I hit my Orlimar Tri Metal 16 deg as far or further than the 975 but I feel that has to do more with the shaft than the head. Beside the lack of distance I really liked the 975. It was very easy to shape shots and place the ball in the fairway. The head at address is quite small and should be reserved for consistant ball strikers. If you are looking for all out distance with very little shot shaping try the GBB II 415 with an Aldila NV shaft. You will be very happy swinging out of your ass and bombing the golf course but for shot shaping off the tee this is your club.

Customer Service

No problems with the club

Similar Products Used:

Titleist 975 J, J-FE Callaway Big Bertha, VFT, Steelhead, GBB II and GBB II 415 Taylor Made 360 Ti, 540 Orlimar Tri Metal

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 17, 2004]
Not a hacker
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 975 JVS

Further reply to previous reviewer. I said I got stock shaft replaced. By stock shaft I meant original shaft, which was actually a Rifle graphite shaft. As my further comments stated, I agree with yu totally about the Rifle graphite shaft. Glad to see it wasn't just me who couldn't hit this piece of crap shaft.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 26, 2004]
BrisVegas
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: 975-JVS

I also got one cheap when the 983K came out in early 2003. Mine had a Rifle graphite shaft, which was horrible. After perservering for 6 months, I went to a clubfitter and got it re-shafted with a Gafalloy Blue S/X at 268cpm. I'm 6'2" with a slowish tempo, but 113 mph swing speed. I find it a sneeky long club. My previous driver was a 975D and I used to average around 240-250 with it. I'm 10 metres longer now. When I really want to unload on a tee shot, I can get this thing out over 300 metres, straight, with confidence. With the right shaft in it, it is a weapon. Many of my friends who chase the latest and greatest clubs, ie. 510TP, R7, 983K, SMT etc etc. keep remarking how solid mine feels. I play it off a tall tee and catch it on the up to reduce backspin. Like any club, take the time to get a shaft to suit your swing and tempo etc. I liked the feel off the head in the shop, but didn't know enough about proper club fitting at the time. I could have saved the cost of a reshaft if I'd known better. Great club. Can't see myself upgrading for a good while now.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 08, 2004]
matt062286
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: 8.5degree Stiff shaft

I've had this club for almost a year now. When I first got it, I could not hit it for the life of me. I would resort to hitting 3 wood on all but the most open holes. Like most golfers of my skill level, I had a hard time avoiding a slice. Since then, I have made many swing adjustments that have let me hit the ball further and straighter. I must say that I love this club now. Before, I thought I should be hitting a regular flex shaft since I could not get the ball high enough. Now, the stiff shaft is perfect for me(it's a stock Graffaloy). I get about 195-210 yards in the air and about 20 yards of roll. I still get the occasional big fade, but it's my fault :)

Similar Products Used:

Cleveland Launcher 330

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 30, 2004]
Not a hacker
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: 975JVS

Boy there must be some lousy short games from people on this site. I constantly read about 80's and 90's shooters hitting it 300+, 80%+ of fairways hit. Boys, go and learn how to chip and putt, your driving distance is longer than 90% of tour players and combined distance/accuracy would be ranked first on the PGA tour. I will try to give an honest appraisal of this driver and my game. I got one cheap when 983 came out but had to re-shaft it with a grafalloy blue stiff (the factory shaft was absolute crap). I have hit some of the longest drives of my life with this driver, and have hit 1 drive a genuine 300+ metres. My average however, would be around 220-230 metres as I don't nail every drive I hit. On a good day I might hit 5 or 6 up past 270, but this driver is not forgiving and always has a few 200-220 hits when you miss the sweet spot. It has reasonably low spin and is accurate. In the hands of a tour player or sratch golfer with a grooved swing, this would be one of the best drivers you could get, but for the majority of we mere mortals I would reccomend a larger headed driver (I curently use a N1PRO 400cc) for more consistent, if less spectacular, results.

Similar Products Used:

original GGB (awsome club, regret not keepimg it), Blue Rage (good, but inclined to hit right), Nicklaus N1PRO (easiest driver I've ever hit, currently in the bag).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 32  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com