Wilson Pd5 Drivers

Wilson Pd5 Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

The Pd5 features a nano carbon crown that utilizes the latest in nanotechnology, and a deep face titanium design for improved playability. Nano carbon and titanium have joined forces in this 400cc club to offer golfers the stability and feel they need to maximize shotmaking capabilities. Combined with a .350 tip Nano Tech shaft, the Pd5 provides supreme control on the tee.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Aug 26, 2017]
James
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: wilson Pd5 Driver

Love this driver, I bought it New back in 2005 I think. I use it when I play tight courses. I just have so much confidence in this driver..It's only 10-15yds shorter than my current "new" driver. Maybe because the shaft is only 44". It just suits my eye...Also I'm a big Padraig Harrington fan. Pretty sure he used that driver to win an Open or two...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 13, 2010]
Somerled
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Pd5

I bought this club back in 2007 after it came out and got it at a bargain 50 pounds. I tried it on the range before and was very impressed. It was when the Dd5 had just come out and so it was mega cheap compared to the other drivers. I have had it ever since and although it is not my preferred driver - I resort to this one if 1) I am playing an extremely tight course or 2) I am not hitting my Taylor Made R5 bang on! I find that it is both long and forgiving - I have a stiff shaft - 9.5° loft and I get 280 - 295 out of this one without trying to knock the skin off the ball. Sometimes - my old trusty Pd5 works a treat. Off centres still fly, great forgiveness at a great price. Nanotech red Shaft still going strong after these years, mid kick point stiff is not too whippy at the tip - minimum twist even when trying open blocks and flat hooks, easy to fade and draw. Confident flat clubface at address.
Don't see many about these days - this is a rare treat - buy one just to try it out at 30 quid, $50 or less. What have you got to lose?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 26, 2008]
Sandman0058
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff PD5

A very attractive club that sets up nicely. I have played it in a 7.5 and 8.5 woth stiff shaft. Nice trajectory that doesn't balloon. Has a decent sound and feel and a good sized sweet spot. Distance is on a par with with a Taylor R7. It is a great deal if you can find it on Ebay. Not a big name but not a big price either. Overall very pleased with the performance of this club. Reasonable distance on off center hits as well. You can get allot of decent clubs these dyas but few at this price.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Si380, Cobra 400SZ, Taylormade RZ & R510, Precept EC Fuel

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 22, 2008]
pure energy
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Pd5 Driver

Wilson Staff Pd5 Driver w stock x flex nano tech shaft, 10 degree loft.

love the shaft on this club. I paid 54.99+ shipping for this in january of 2008. I can't find x flex shafts as the canadian companies don't stock them. (have to order them and it's +$250 at least).

it's just as long as the other clubs I have been playing but it is much more workable than I am use to. I haven't quite got this club down yet but I will say this:

great bargain
very high quality
get's the ball out a long way

the only caution i have is that there are a lot more lively and forgiving drivers out there than this.

overall a solid bargain.

Customer Service

haven't used

Similar Products Used:

m42 by macgregor, hibore, orlimar ht440, cobra f speed,

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 04, 2007]
edgolf
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Pd5- 8.5* degree

Have been stuck on Callaway trying to find the right driver. Great BB2, X460, ERC, etc.

I have always liked Padraig Harrington, so when I saw him playing this I tried it. Picked a slightly used on on ebay for $35.00. That's right $35! I even have the upgraded proforce 65 stiff shaft. And I will say "I love this club". It is the best value in drivers period.

Give it a try.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

Callaway Great Big Bertha II, ERC Fusion, X460 Tour, Mac Burroughs Powersphere, Titliest 975JVS

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 18, 2006]
jackoradgolfer
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Pd5 Lh Regular 10 loft

I bought this driver about 1 month ago, This driver is more closed than my old one and i think it is what is causing me to not play a high fade. It is very easy to play high, low, left or right

Customer Service

not used

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 01, 2006]
dcarey
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Pd5 11.5 degree R Shaft

I started playing at Easter this year and feal (like many I guess) that I am better than my handicap but just could not prove it. The part of the game that was really letting me down was the tee shot. I play on a course where there is out of bounds or woods on 13 of the holes so accuracy is vital of the tee.

After reading a range of reviews and articles I decided to swap my old 8.5 degree driver with a Wilson Pd5 with a reg shaft and 11.5 loft - which I bought of ebay for a very good price. I was prepared to give up yards for accuracy and was ready to teased by my friends, but I was very plesently suprised.

I used the club for the first time this weekend. The club was a lot longer than my old club and most importantly I only missed a few fairways, and these were not by much. I regularly out drove my playing companions (i.e. no jokes about the loft).

The bottom line - I broke 90 for the first time (scored 88), suprised my friends and managed to win the roll up which payed for most of the club.

It's a different game from the fairway with around 150 yrds to the pin. The club is great and well worth a try, my experience so far with the higher loft is great - accuracy and distance.

Thanks Wilson.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 11, 2006]
acem8
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Wislon Staff PD5 driver

I bought this driver for a bargain £45, 8.5 degree with a Grafalloy blue stiff shaft. It's a good allround driver. It's forgiving, straight, long, has a nice feel and gives a nice solid sound off the clubface (Cobra users note!!) I would recommend if you can pick one of these up cheaply.

Customer Service

Never required

Similar Products Used:

Taylor Made 580
Titleist 983K

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 23, 2005]
stevehines
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Pd5

For the logest time I've played Titliest equipment, and even recently bought their 905T driver. I have always been inconsistent off the tee as well. So I set out to find the most forgiving driver regardless of the maker. I tested the 905T, Callaway FT-3 and the Pd5 in a simulator. The 905T shot dispersion of 50% wider than the FT-3 and the FT-3 was about 10% wider than the Pd5. In short, this club is VERY forgiving. I found the FT-3 and 905T to be slightly longer by maybe 3-5 yards, which in my oppinion isn't going to make a bit of difference. Accuracy was waht I wanted and I found it in the Pd5. Nice deep faced club that looks great behind the ball. It's $100 less than the 905T and the FT-3, so it was an easy choice.

Customer Service

Didn't use

Similar Products Used:

905T, FT-3 Neutral

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 04, 2005]
KidWilson33
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: wilson pd5 8.5

I am a big fan of Wilson, so I was looking around on ebay and won this Driver for 90 bucks in mint condition. I would have to say at first glance out of the package, I thought the red shaft and especially the headcover weren't going to win any beauty contests, although I did like the design on the top of the head. I took her out to the course and Hit the ball amazingly well. The stock shaft fits this club very nicely and overall the club seemed very light and comfortable. The sound at impact has a very nice smack to it. As far as distance, I believe any of the newer drivers can put it way out there. I hit this one as far as my Nike Ignite 460. YOu dont have to worry about distance with this Driver if you put a good swing on it. Looks to be well made, but only time will tell how it holds up. I guess If your like me and want to have a change from the 460cc head size to a smaller 400cc head, this would be a very good choice if you find one at the right price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com