Burrows Golf M.A.C. Powersphere Fairway Woods

M.A.C. Powersphere

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
Acm   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 13, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Wood 3,5&7

Got my mac powersphere woods when i started playing golf. Bought the wood 3,5&7. Got them for about $50,-

One of the best woods i ever played first shot i took was straight down the fairway and about 180M at sea level with a 3 wood, quite good for a beginner.
Since i got better my macs weren't al reliable as usual, went on a search for a different club with a stiff shaft, had all the big brands but nothing came close.
So i dusted off the mac's and tried em again.
The std fujikura shaft excellent btw. wasn't stiff enough so i refitted them with uts proforce v2 stiff.
Hit the wood 3 210~230 meter at sea level now.


Similar Products Used: Callaway diablo octane and razorfit, tailor-made rbz, Cleveland xls hibore,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
William Nigel-Jones   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 19, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Mac Power driver

The Mac power driver is the best driver I have ever owned. It is even better than my Ping driver. I can get at least another 30-50 yards from my drives.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 22, 2008]
Model Reviewed: SiMAC Powersphere 3 and 5 woods

I must say these clubs are amazing.
Mis-hits, off-center, name it and you got the ball long and straight.
I'm also looking to purchase their driver, but on hold due to exchange rate.
The only problem I have now is that this club hits too long and I must consider something to fill in between...

Customer Service

I don't need it.

Similar Products Used: MIZUNO, TAYLORMADE, RAM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bribuc65   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: MAC Powersphere by Burrows Golf

No wonder Burrows went out of business. I picked up a new 9 wood and used it for awhile. Nice to start with until the head fell off.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
jjloans   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Powersphere 400 cc

This driver rocks. I traded a couple of cheap old drivers for this in like new condition (it was priced at $39 used), and it is in the bag. I have tried many, many drivers, and this is among the best (THE best, for me currently). The price is crazy... since Burrows went under, these drivers seem to be radioactive, they are giving them away on Ebay.

Mine came with the Fujikura HF-6, which I heard was so well liked by the folks at Fuji after designing it for Burrows, they brought it out themselves as the Tour Platform... expensive!

This is a very long and forgiving driver. I mean REALLY long. Easy to control, unless a wild hack is taken at the pellet, which is fun once in awhile, sound is solid, feel is great, feedback is good. Mine is 10.5*, R flex, 46".

At $39, it is crazy, as it is better than all of the $300-$400 drivers I have owned or tried. The 400 cc model is the best, IMO, and hard to find. I think it was the tour version, appears to be square.

I hit one of the longest drives of my life with this recently, 370, ground was a little dry, but what a gas! I am getting around 275 on average with a full but controlled swing.

Solid construction, thicker face, bummer about some of the others here cracking, but most drivers have a few flawed ones that come around sometimes... Looks a lot like the Titleist heads, which is fine. I am waiting for a MAC 3 wood with a fuji shaft bought off Ebay for $45 shipped... crazy.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Almost everything. Recently, the G10, Sumo2, 905r, Burner, Hi-Bore XL, Srixon 503. The Mac blows them all away.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
stealth   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 12, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Mac Powersphere driver

Unbelievable! I got an 8.5 degree driver (non draw) from Rock Bottom Golf for $20, stiff flex ($30 delivered). It came with a Fujikura VP70 shaft which is worth more than that alone.

Originally, I purchased just a clubhead, threw it on a spare shaft and proceeded to hit the best drives of my life. After purchasing the above driver, I am now hitting 10 to 30 yard draws right down the middle of the fairway. My average drive has gone up about at least 20 yards (averaging 309 yards here in Phoenix, AZ - in the winter!), I think because this driver is so forgiving. You have no idea how satisfying it is when I knock it 30 to 75 yards past some guy holding a $300 plus fancy driver. When he asks me what I have I make darn sure to point out it cost me only $20.

Also, my friend had given up on hitting drivers a couple of years ago. I loaned him the one I built and he proceeded to knock a bunch of drives STRAIGHT down the fairway. He LOVES this driver.

Honestly, I have delayed posting this review so I could buy a total of at least 3 of these drivers, as well as the fairway woods. I now have what I need so am willing to share the good news with you.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob Streber   Scratch Golfer [Dec 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Burrows Golf M.A.C. Powersphere

Had problems finding the adjustment tool for the draw screw. Very limited support from the golf shops. Most do not carry the line. Was unable to find a burrows rep for support. Burrows website was no help. Would pass on the club

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Dean Parangi   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Powersphere 3 Metal

Was sceptical about these clubs because they were dirt cheap but the reviews I read praised the forgiveness and distance. I received my club today with a Fujikura shaft for $47 and couldnt believe how solid it felt off the deck or off the tee creating a light looonnnng draw. Hitting an average 220m down the fairway is pretty handy! I recommend that you buy these clubs they are as good as they say!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Burrows Driver

Bought this driver because I liked the looks of it. Love it so much have since bought the 3, 5, 7 and 9 woods. Wish they had an 11 wood, I could almost get rid of all my irons. Hits straight and long, even on miss hits. I love it.

Customer Service

none bought on ebay

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Darryl White   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Powersphere 3 and 5 woods

I have always been very questionable when it came to using any woods and so apart from tee off would use my irons always. Have just purchased very cheaply, these woods over net because of these reviews. I have to say "WOW", is it really that easy? My first crack of the 3 wood went at least 220 in the air off the tee and dead straight. Then the next and the next. Off centre hits as well. So then off the deck, exactly the same. I could never dream of hitting a 3 off the deck till this club. So I cant wait now to hit the course next week and am certain that score is coming down. If I could find a driver, I think I would seriously consider trading my Taylormade r7 460 in. Hope this helps someone else take the plunge. They are awesome.

Similar Products Used: So cheap they didn't bother naming them.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT GOLFREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.