Callaway Great Big Bertha II Fairway Woods

Available At:
Great Big Bertha II

Ultrathin high COR titanium face delivers high ball speed and exceptional forgiveness Internal weighting for low center of gravity produces a trajectory that enhances distance and control High performance GBB System 60 and GBB 50 shafts have shaft weight and torque tuned to match the swing tempo for each flex range Conforms to USGA and R&A rules

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Richard Earle   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 12, 2015]
Model Reviewed: callaway great big bertha fairwaywoods

I have all the woods in this range from driver to an eleven wood all in reg flex needless to say these clubs are the best investment i have ever made in club selection . even today I do not think there is much out there that can touch the quality of these clubs or the playability , and i have tried a few !

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
lcastaneda45   Shoots in the 100s [Mar 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Great Big Bertha II 3 wood

This club is unbelievable. I have used it for 3 rounds and I average 220 yards with this off the tee. My Taylormade driver stays in my bag. I have only been playing 8 months and could not drive consisitently until two weeks ago. This club hits it straight everytime. Bought used for 45 bucks, can't beat it. Quality is tremendous.

Customer Service

3ballsgolf.com great quick service!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pky6471   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Great Big Bertha II 3 Wood

First at all, my average score is in the range of 87-92 at 130 slope ranking golf
courses.

I bought a brand new GBB 15* wood which comes with the GBB system 60 (60g?) R-flex due to good reviews. Took it out to my home course today and much to my surprise I hit it as well as my 2007 BB 15* wood, I like it so much that I just eBay'ed a 11* GBB driver , same shaft. The GBB II 3 wood's head is smaller than my current 2007 BB 3 wood, GBB II head is not shallow, smaller and taller and yet I can hit it as straight, the ball jumps off the club face nicely, and to my surprise, some hole I can hit it almost as long as my driver... Another great product from Callaway

Customer Service

Callaway is the best in customer service. I have used the a few times and I don't think that any other golf company can match its customer service department

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
srh21golf   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 14, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Great big bertha ii fairway wood 3,5,7

These are the greatest clubs ever made bar none!!. I bought a big bertha ii 5 wood when they were released in 2004 and it is probably the only constant presence in my bag since then. If you want high long shots in to the green these are the clubs for you. Earlier this year i picked up the 3 wood and the 7 wood on ebay for less than $40 each!! and quite honestly i am shocked at how good they are. The clubs are confidence building at address and put other new models to shame (the current callaway clubs are not as good as this model).

I have owned most makes of golf equipment and play to a relatively good standard (low 80's high 70's), but these are unquestionably the best there is!!!.

Vijay Singh still carries one of these beauties in his bag and if its good enough for Vijay it is good enough for me.

Similar Products Used: Most major makes and current models!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
2underpar   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: GBBII 3 Wood GD YS-6 stiff

Do I dare say the I found the perfect 3 wood? Over the past several years I've been through many fairway woods, never quite finding the right one for me. Many of them treated me pretty well but none treated me like the GBBII. Maybe this club just fits my swing but I will say I really hit this stick solid.

Two days ago I was 245yds to the pin and riped one to the front of the green. Temp was 43 Degrees and the ground was saturated! All carry!! Trust me, I'm not a young kid fabricating some 320 yd avg drive. I'm just a little longer than average off the tee and certainly nothing to brag about.

The GBBII sets up nice behind the ball and really inspires a good swing. Seems very easy to hit from a tight fairway, which for me has been rather problematic with other 3 woods.

I will say that the stock callaway firm shaft for this club isn't a good fit for me. It produced some big sweeping draws and not as long (probably because I was afraid of another big hook if I really went after it).

Customer Service

Have used there customer service in the past and they are the best!

Similar Products Used: Just about every major (and many minor) makes out there.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
dbigelow44   Shoots in the 90s [May 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Great Big Bertha II 3W

I was looking for a club that would offer control on tight fairways.(mainly off the tee) I found this club used at 2nd swing, and based on the reviews and testing it at the store, gave it a try. Well, I got what I was looking for and more. I've never been a very good player with my woods in the fairway, but this club was different. I'm not a real big hitter, but I am getting between 210 to 220 off the grass and it's been dead straight so far. At this point I have no complaints.

Customer Service

2nd Swing is alright. I prefer to shop at golf smith, but they had this club for $50 so I pulled the trigger.

Similar Products Used: Adams Tight Lies GT, Adams Ovation, Calloway Steelhead.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Beaner   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Big Bertha II 3 and 5 woods

I believe the 3 wood is the longest and sweetest feeling 3 wood that I have owned. The larger head makes it easy to hit off the tee while it is still very playable from the fairway. It took me a little longer to warm up to the 5 wood but I am now very comfortable pulling it out of the bag. These clubs are a little longer than other fairway woods because of the titanium face. I bought the clubs used for about $100 each. They were three times that much when they were new. Nice fairway woods.

Customer Service

Callaway used clubs is a great source for used equipment and you can trade in old clubs.

Similar Products Used: Warbird, Cleveland, Ping fairway woods
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Domboman   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 12, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Great Big Bertha II 3wood

This club really rocks out of the fairway, the tee box, and even the lighter rough.The closed face creates a straight hit on contact with a boring flight. With 16 degrees of loft ball will get in the air quicker than most standard 3 woods Great club for very long par 3's of at least 200 yards, as well as a great second shot on all par 5's and long par 4's. This club has a regular flex and weighs 60 to 61 grams. If you have a slower swing speed 90mph or less, this could be the club for you. The titanium head also is light and helps with clubhead speed and the GBBII 3 wood is very accurate. With this club being discontinued last season you should shop around for a great deal. This club also holds its value very well. Overall a very good all around 3 wood. I am looking into the GBBII 5 and 7 wood for a future purchase.This club will stay in my bag for its consistency and realiability.

Customer Service

Callaway is the BEST!

Similar Products Used: Adams Ovation[good club but a bit heavier],Callaway Hawkeye[nice club but a bit shorter for distance], and Yonex.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sidterry   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 29, 2004]
Model Reviewed: callaway big bertha 2

I've had a lot of trouble in the past with consistency in regards to fairway woods(3on up). With the Big Bertha 2 5wood that has changed. At first glance the head does not seem much bigger than my Steelhead 3 5 wood but it terms of forgiveness, direction and consistency the difference is worth the price. Even shots out of the sweet spot seem to be similar to the "center cut" ones. Previously I would not even try a 5 out of a thin fairway, but now I have the confidence that the shot will be fine. I went from a firm to a regular shaft and that may have helped as well. If you have tried various fairway woods and are tired of spending money for little performance, you'll likely be very happy with the Big Bertha 2's.

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour, Top Flite, Callaway SteelHead 3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Phil O Pino   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 07, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Callaway GBB II 3+ wood

Wow!! I just picked up this GBB II Strong 3 wood with the Firm Shaft off of Ebay. I was surprised by how hot the face is on this club. I previously had the ERC Strong 3, so I was afraid that this Callaway simply repainted the head and called it the GBB II. But from this first round with this club, I think not. This club was at least 15-20 yards longer than my Cobra SS strong 3 and my TM 200 Strong 3. Now granted these are steel vs. the GBB Titanium. I can recommend this club if you can swing a deal on it. Paying full retail is a shame with Ebay around and the fact that these have been out for a couple of years now. Very Nice Strong 3 wood.

Customer Service

Callaway is the leader when it comes to customer service. A++.

Similar Products Used: Cobra SS Strong 3, ERC II Strong 3, TM 200 Strong 3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

    THE SITE

    ABOUT GOLFREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.