TaylorMade Firesole Fairway Woods

TaylorMade Firesole Fairway Woods 

DESCRIPTION

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 101  
[Jul 03, 2015]
Linda De
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: TaylorMades Fairway Driver

I had purchased a set of TaylorMades Fairway woods and played about 1-2 times a week. After exactly 13 months from the date of purchase, while hitting a tee shot, the club head broke off of the shaft. I took the club back to the store and was told they could not help me and I needed to contact the manufacturer. A week later while my husband was golfing with his Taylormade driver he hit a tee shot and amazingly, the same thing happened. The head broke off of the shaft in the same exact location as mine did. I called the corporate offices and also wrote them an e-mail with no response. After several phone calls, I was finally able to speak with a customer service representative and his response was, "I'm sorry to hear about your bad luck but we only warranty our clubs for ONE YEAR from the date of purchase so there is nothing we can do for you". After much explanation on my part, he denied any repair or replacement of the clubs. Therefore, I will never purchase anything made by this manufacturer again as it is junk made to last until the warranty runs out and then you can throw it away!

Customer Service

Horrible customer service. They don't stand behind their products

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 24, 2009]
dakotafountain
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: taylormade firesole

i got these for christmas this year and they are nice.i hit the ball 200-285 most everytime i drove.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 20, 2009]
sgniwder99
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Taylormade Firesole Rescue Hybrid

Let me be clear that I'm reviewing the hybrid rescue club, not a fairway wood (which a lot of people love). I have the 18 and 21 degree versions of this club.

I'm not great, but I'm a fairly decent player. I don't have an official handicap, but I'd say I'm about an 8-10. I at least go out every time with the realistic goal of breaking 80.

I'm telling you this because I generally hit the ball fairly well, but can sometimes have trouble with long irons. So I got these used for cheap. Well, I'm here to tell you that these pieces of crap are harder to hit than any long iron I've ever owned. The 18 got chucked from my bag a long time ago. I only keep the 21 in there because I don't have a 3-iron in my iron set and I need something to cover the gap between 4-iron and 4-wood (my only fairway wood). But I end up kicking myself 3 out of 4 times I pull this thing out. When you do hit it well the ball goes a mile, that's true. But this club is SO easy to mis-hit, and there's no forgiveness when you do, so you might hit it 230 one time when you hit it pure, and then 175 then next when you just catch it on the toe a bit. I've spent quite a bit of time on the range with these trying to find a swing that I can make with confidence with them, and I just can't, because they're just too inconsistent between shots.

In case I'm not being clear enough, let me emphasize: I hate these things. Hate them. Hate. I will be buying an actual hybrid as soon as possible and hopefully never looking at either one of these stupid-looking abortions again. (Oh yeah, that's another thing--these don't actually look like a hybrid; they look like a skinny little undersized wood that someone chopped 3/4 of the back off of.)

Basically, here's the thesis of this review: hybrids are supposed to be clubs that give you confidence in an area where most golfers are likely to lack it--long iron play. These things, at least for me, do exactly the opposite.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 18, 2007]
dc_1988
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: taylormade firesole

this club is one of its kind. shoots around 240-250. when u hit balls it gives out sparks and its very unique. ive tried an r7 driver and i hate it. firesole is defeniately more forgiving in swing and distance.

Similar Products Used:

R7, callway big bertha

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 19, 2006]
noren0
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: TM Firesole 3 & 5 wood, s90 steel

Yes I realize that you probably shouldn't listen to a guy who shoots in the 90s but let me say that my woods play is by far the strongest part of my game. The TM firesole was once a gem and is still a very good golf club. It is probably the easiest fairway wood to hit off the deck still. It is fairly forgiving and it does smash the ball. People complain about the wierd sound it makes but I like it because it makes the club somewhat unique and besides, sound does not affect flight path. I have recently replaced my Firesole 3 wood with a V steel and was reluctant to do it but I now know that it was a great move. The 5 wood was my favorite club for the past couple of years and is still in my bag, however, it will soon be replaced by either a V steel 18 or a rescue mid 19. At the price you can get those two clubs at today on ebay it just doesn't make sense to get a Firesole any more, sad but true. The bottom line is that the Firesole is a fantastic club but it has been outdated.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Original Big Bertha 3 wood
Tight Lies-2 3 wood
V Steel 3 wood
Rescue Mid 22*
Zevo 3 wood

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 23, 2005]
frankmelet
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: FIRESOLE

A REALLY GREAT FAIRWAY WOOD. INCREDIBLY LONG. LOW PROFILE MAKES IT EASY TO HIT OFF THE DECK UNLIKE SO MANY OF THE NEWER HIGHER PROFILE WOODS. IF YOU CAN FIND ONE OF THESE ON EBAY, BUY IT. YOU WILL SAVE YOURSELF A BUNCH OF MONEY FROM THE NEW STUFF AND THE FEEL IS GREAT.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 03, 2004]
foxandhound
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: taylormade firesole 3&5 wood

i traded in my tm 200 sttel 2 wood for a 3 and 5 wood i hit the 3 wood for the FIRST time and hit it over 230 yards straight down the middle. the only thing i dont like about these clubs is the weird sound it makes. but this is the most forgiving wood ever.and thats alot coming from a 14 year old boy. I've only ben playing for about 2 years and these clubs are the best. off the tee or from the roungh or fairway, you will have a good shot.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 21, 2002]
John
Shoots in the 70s

Before I got the firesole i would hit 220 if i was lucky, now i find my self hitting from 265-275 and strait.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 20, 2002]
AJT
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Firesole Driver 10.5 R80

I just recently purchased a Firesole Driver from a friend with a 10.5 loft and love it! After having tried it out on the range I found it very forgiving..When you hit it right on the ball just sails, straight as an arrow!..It didn't take me very long to get used to it and soon I was crushing drives consistently!! Taylormade makes a quality product and now I'm looking at acquiring a 3 wood and 5 wood for my bag!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Spalding

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 06, 2002]
george023
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Firesole Driver

Strength:

None

I purchased my Firesole driver 10.5* with R-80 shaft in Sept 2000 when I was a 20 handicap. 15 months later, I have come down to a 14 handicap due to the distance and forgiveness I get from this driver. I don''t hit a high ball so rely on good roll and that''s exactly what I get when I flush one in the middle. Even when I don''t hit it good it sees to just roll and roll and still go straight. I recommend this club to high handicapers looking to improve. I''m very satisfied with Taylor Made products that I upgraded my irons to the 320 series after using an old set for the last 8 years. I can''t wait until the price of the 320 driver comes down a bit as I might trade in the trusty Firesole. If the 320 driver is as good as the reviews I''m hearing, then I''d be crazy not to have one.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 101  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com