Bridgestone Precept Tour Premium Forged Irons

Precept Tour Premium Forged

From Precept Golf: "The PreceptTour Premium Forged Iron is forged from the finest 1025 mild carbon steel providing exceptional feel and playability. Featuring a progressive cavity-back design, the long irons are easy to get in the air, while the short irons produce a flatter trajectory. With its longer hosel and minimal offset, the Tour Premium Forged will appeal to the most discriminating traditionalist, while maintaining a high level of forgiveness not found in muscleback designs."

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
walkm54   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 29, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Precept Forged CB Irons

I traded in a set of Ping I3, red dots, 4-PW, for this set. I was lucky enough to find them in a Golf USA moving sale at 50% off. It was a hard decision to give up the Pings but it was a great decision! I actually bought them without hitting the set, but they were such a good looking set and felt so good in my hands that I took the plunge. The fact that I only had to throw in $30 cash in the deal was a big incentive also. These sticks are sweet, I have played them three times now and am more atuned to their distance and feel than I was playing the I3s for nearly 2 years! They give excellent distance and are also very forgiving for a forged set. Mores so than the cast I3s ever were! Theres no substitute for quality and you feel it and see it in the Precepts. Finally, you just can't beat the feel and look of a forged club, just seeing them in my bag gives me more confidence than I ever felt with the Pings, or Wilsons, or whatever else I used to populate my bag with. If your thinking about getting a set of these, do it, you won't be disappointed!

Customer Service

No results or need yet.

Similar Products Used: Ping I-3, LSX custom sticks, Wilson Fat Shafts, Ping clones.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MulliparMatt   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 28, 2002]
Model Reviewed: tour premium forged

I just ordered a set of these about a week ago, and they should arrive any day now. I do not usually buy something without trying it first, but after reading the reviews, and hitting the Tour Premium CB's in a local golf shop(I had never hit Precepts before, and was really wowed by the CB's--equal to the Hogan products and easily better than the rest). That, plus the price was just too good to pass up--had me go ahead and take a chance on these. If I don't like them I'll just lick my financial wounds and go ahead and buy either the Tour Premium CB's or the Hogan Apex Edge Pro's--in my opinion the two best sets of clubs for the mid-handicapper that I've hit to date(and I've hit most all of them). Well, I'll write another review once I get a chance to hit my new clubs. Until then, thanks to all who have posted reviews on all the different clubs--a great source of info. I do note the tendency for people to overate clubs---and there clubs/reviews that I did'nt think were that true to my experience with those particular products. The bottom line is that one should always try out a club for themselves, and use the reviews to look for similiar experiences/product tendencies amongst the different reviewers. Also, don't do what I did and wait until you are forty years old to buy a set of forged irons. No cavity back club is going to compare to the sweet feel of a forged club. Forged clubs such as the Hogan Edge's and the Precept CB's are forgiving enough even for the highest handicapper. An old salt golf salesman told me that it takes two and a half times more labor to make a forged club--so of course the club makers want you to buy cast clubs--the profit margin is way higher! If you do buy forged,just be sure to buy a set of head covers, because they dinged up easier than cast (softer metal), and nothing is uglier than a set of dinged up foged clubs

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Tried them all
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andrew anderson   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 28, 2002]
Model Reviewed: bridgestone tour premium blade irons

I bought my irons a few months ago and they were the best buy i have ever made.These have seen me win many tournaments shooting in the eighties with them.I highly recommend the irons to anyone out there who is not a chop.

Similar Products Used: I use to play with the titleist 990 which are nothing compared to my tour premiums.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jmmcelree   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 15, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Precept Tour Premium Forged

Beautiful sticks that I purchased on a whim. I opted for the Rifle 6.0 upgrade and would recommend it. These are a perfect blend of blade and player cavity back. They aren't especially easy or forgiving but they are easier than blades. The great part is that when flushed they feel like blades. They have a high overall club weight and D3 swingweight which aids in tempo and keeping them on plane. At $395 these were a sweet deal.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Hogan Apex Plus, Wilson Staff Progressive, Mizuno Comp EZ, Ping ISI & I3, Orlimar SF302, Golfsmith Tour Cavity Pro's, Golfsmith Tour Cavity Forged, Golfsmith Pro Forged, Macgregor PCB, etc. etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Allbirdies   Shoots in the 80s [May 24, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Precept Tour Premium Forged Irons

I have always liked how these irons setup. When I discovered that I could pick up a new set for $375 I could not resist. Very solid. They look and compare very nicely with my M-14 with S-400, Apex Blade with S-300. My Precepts have S-300.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
golferhigh   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 24, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Precept Tour Premium Forged irons

Excellent feel. Superior workmanship. Soft as butter. This set of irons should cost three times as much and still would be worth it. S400 shaft is perfect fit for this set.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
golfdoggy   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 20, 2001]
Model Reviewed: Tour Premium
Strength:

None

I''ve played Titleist 962''s for years, but have always been looking for a forged replacement. Tried Mizuno and Hogan with poor results. When I saw these irons advertised I thought they might be too difficult to play with so little offset. After trying them at my local golf shop I was convinced otherwise. They are extemely forgiving from 5 iron down. You do have to put a good swing on the 4 and especially the 3 iron for above average results. The minimal offset in the long irons demands that you stay behind the ball all the way through impact - just like you are suppose to. The ball flight on the long irons is what sold me. I''ve always tended to hit the ball low, with these irons I was able to hit much higher all the way throught the set. Distance seems to be average, but I''m wondering what the lofts are since the ball flight is so high. They definitely feel like you could strengthen the lofts at least int he short and mid irons. Feel with the clubs is what you would expect out of forged, very soft even with RockFlite range balls. On balls hit low on the face you can feel it, but you won''t get a stinger in your hands, just a lower flight and usually a little cut to it. All in all a great bargain as far as forged blades go. It''s Winter in MI so I have not had an opportunity to play with them yet, but hope to do so as soon as it warms up a bit.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy   Shoot in the 70s [Aug 15, 2001]

I just finished my first round with these clubs. i have played both pro II irons and apex plus irons throughout the summer and these are the best all-around forged cavity backs. they set up more like a blade than the others, look great, and are forgiving. the long irons are truely easy to hit, i must admit from there look at address i would think they were as hard to hit as blades. recently i have been mixing MP-14's and original DCI-B irons. the DCI-b is the best long irons i have ever owned and i think the precepts might be as good! both have very tradition set-up, but are easy to hit. i wouldn't say the feel is as buttery soft as a mizuno or hogan set. however, they have a very unique "solid" feel to them, lots of mass behind the ball. my only complaint about these irons is they are not as long as others i have played, but that is likely because the lofts are more traditional. overall, i am very pleased with them in comparison to the apex plus or Pro II. the pro II long irons were hard enough to hit that they might as well be mp-14's and the hogan short irons just seemed too chunky at address. also, don't be concerned with the s400 shaft over the s300. they don't play stiffer, just are heavier, i would assume to match the heavier heads.

Similar Products Used: mp-14, Pro II, Apex Plus, 962b, DCI-B
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex   Shoot in the 70s [Aug 13, 2001]
Model Reviewed: Precept Tour Premium Forged

I have played forged musclebacks for most of my playing days and since I now only play a few times a year I wanted a set of cavity backs that were a little more forgiving. These Precepts offer what few other cavity back irons can, that feeling of really having mass behind the ball at impact. Most cavity backs are definitely easier to hit and more forgiving but they don't have as solid a feel as musclebacks, these Precepts do. The short and mid-irons feel much like any other forged blades, but the benefit is actually in the long irons where there is a remarkable ease in getting the ball on the proper trajectory and into the air. These clubs aren't very gimmicky and if you are a high handicapper, you're still better off with Callaways or other game improvement clubs. The best compliment I can give these clubs is that they play wit has much feel and solidness as any muscleback I have ever played, with the benfit of forgiveness. Very unique.

Similar Products Used: Lynx Parallax, Mizuno MS-9, Mizuno MP-14, Mizuno MP-11, Mizuno True, Mizuno Pro
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Gus   Shoot in the 70s [Aug 09, 2001]
Model Reviewed: Tour Premium w/ DG S400

Wow! These are better than I imagined they could be. They're very soft, very solid and so easy to hit. Set up is just like a blade - small clubhead, thin topline, very low offset, shiny chrome. They're absolutely beautiful clubs. They provide a tad extra forgiveness over muscle backs, but seem to offer all the workability and control. Maybe the best clubs I've ever hit. Maybe.

Similar Products Used: MP33, MP14, Apex, KZG Blade, TA3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com