Honma Golf LB 280 Irons

Honma Golf LB 280 Irons 

DESCRIPTION

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Nov 03, 2013]
WM
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: LB280

I'm using it since beginning my golf life.. got it free from my cousin, he stop playing due to some reason. It was steel shaft. Quite heavy but being super wack golfer, super stiff well fit with me. I can't hit my w3 & w5 because of superlight carbon shaft so it just for display because I bought a hybrid 4 steel shaft to backup me. Great iron and if I swing correct, my iron 7 simply go 150 beyond. iron 3 a bit difficult but if I hit it right it will fly 200 beyond. Now I'm about 40s now, time to change and trying my new 2nd hand Hawkeye with graphite shaft, hell crazy, I have to hit 5 iron like I hit my LB280 P. Conclusion, Honma LB280 is a great iron.

Customer Service

Never experience

Similar Products Used:

In my bag now;
Hawkeye Tungsten Injected Titanium
Srixon w-404
John Daly Wood5
Wilson Ultra Hybrid4
John Daly 56d
Tommy Armour short blade putter.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 03, 2007]
kamal hassan
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: LB708

i have just bought a set of used honma irons from a shop that imports used golf set from Japan. the shop is in located in Malaysia. the wording of the shaft read as Super Light Titanium Carbon special caity, RI. I wish to know why is there no sign of stars on the shaft?
so far after using it twice, I have not yet felt happy using it. the clubs feel very light.

Customer Service

not available yet

Similar Products Used:

maruman side winder

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 31, 2006]
Dana Pamilih
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: LB 280 New H&F

As an older beginner, I wanted an easy to hit, lightweight set of irons. After testing a few makes including the top names like Callaway, TaylorMade, Mizuno, ENA, Maruman, etc. I decided on the 1-star, featherweight shaft, LB-280 New H&F, a discontinued model but the most popular one. The swing weight is C-8/C-9 which suits me perfectly. It is a forgiving set of irons but still allow me to fade or draw. The feel is out of this world, soft but accurate, an amazing combination. The distance is unbelievable.

They were so well crafted that it made feel guilty hitting them on the ground!

Expensive but worth it.

Customer Service

None so far. Just wondering if I have to register the clubs since I bought them in Indonesia.

Similar Products Used:

Mitsushiba Verdict carbon shaft, Maruman Birdie Cup steel shaft.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 11, 2006]
rayp1111
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Honma PP 717

I have been a blade player for the last 25 years and have always beleived that there is nothing better to strike the ball with than well made blade irons. I am now in my late 40's and have lost a little distance over the past few years. I have used a large number of iron sets over the last 18 months after giving my Mizuno TP 9's the flick after 8 faithful years. I then attempted to find something newer that felt the same but went a bit farther than the my old TP's. NO LUCK WHATSOEVER!! I used them all Titleist PM 731, 735. Nike Pro combo. Wilson Staff. Mizuno MX 20, 23. Nothing seemed to have the same feel and reliability of the old Tour Proven's. I then chanced upon a brand new set of Honma PP 717 blades 3 - 11. 11 being a 52 gap wedge. I have never tried Honma before as they were always way over priced. I picked up this set on Ebay for a good price. I was a little dissappointed at first as the R400 shafts were half and inch shorter than standard. I had this adjusted and have been using them for the past 3 months. Took a bit of getting used to at first and the fact that they are not forged is obvious as I would not say they are "buttery" soft, but centre shots went very well and I found them quite easy to work. The wedges are quite larger than the rest of the set and are forgiving. Overall a very nice set of blades that look good and appear very well made.

Customer Service

Not tried

Similar Products Used:

too many to mention !!!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 12, 2003]
hankhoh
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Honma PP717

This is a review of the Honma PP717 blade, not the LB280. I have used these Honmas for just over a year, having purchased them second-hand from a company specialising in importing used clubs from Japan. I had been looking to play new blades for some time but the majority of irons available were oversized cavity-back and I could not get used to the look at address position. I tried the Hogan Apex and Mizuno MP-33 and MP-14, and was on the verge of purchasing the MP-14 when I chanced upon these irons. A clean head design, a beautifully soft, yet crisp, feel and a penetrating ball flight convinced me that these were the ones for me. The fact that I could get 2-iron to 11-iron (gap wedge in non-Japanese specs!) in the set was a bonus! The ability to work the ball and the pure feel on contact stand out in comparison with other irons that I have tried, and I am extremely satisfied with the purchase. Finding them was a real boon, especially as they are no longer in production. Since purchasing this set, I have tried the new Mizuno MP-37, but still feel that the Honmas have a superior feel. The MP-37 feels slightly harder. The closest Mizuno to it is the old MS-11, which is also out of production! I would recommend the Honma PP717 to anyone who wants to hone their iron play. My uncle (his golfing buddies called him “The Butcher” in his youth, because he used to hit a 5 iron 220 yards – he “butchered” the ball) advised me when I started playing to concentrate on my 5,6,7 irons. He said “Most club play is Match play, not stroke play, and there is nothing more discouraging for the opposition than to see you drive into the rough only to find your second shot on the green”. If you want to win, get accurate with your irons. The Honmas may just be your secret weapon!

Customer Service

Have not experienced yet

Similar Products Used:

Mizuno MS-11, MP-33, MP-14, MP-37

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 14, 2003]
Fernando
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: honma new lb 280

Best Clubs ever owned. One club longer than similar products used, below. Forged with a very shoft touch. They are cavity backs but you feel perfectly when you do not hit on the center noticing your swing problems with out loosing a lot of distance. Are not the nicer blades I have ever played but sometimes the beautiful one is not the most effective. As a summary for me are the only clubs in the market that can offer you playability, distance, accuracy, forged and feed back at the same time in the market.

Customer Service

Life guarantee.

Similar Products Used:

Wilson fat shaft rm forged. Good clubs but you have to play three times a week. x-12 and x-16 pro series. Titleist 690 cb my second choice a little bit heavy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 17, 2003]
fastcar888
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Honma LB 280

I ordered my Honma LB 280’s (2 *) two degrees upright, R-1 shaft, with thick grips, with a titanium-carbon shaft one half longer than normal. The first thing I noticed taking the clubs out of the wrapping was how meticulous the clubs came to me. They were wrapped on the shaft and the head with plastic that with twists. After examining the clubs, there was zero sloppiness in the construction. Once out, I compared the Honma with my Mizuno MX-20’s, side-by-side and took a dozen or so swings outside my garage in the grass. The MX-20 were had smaller heads and the Honma head weight was definitely more evident. Looking down on new clubs, the wide cavity back it felt like the center was very low with added weight at the bottom of the club. The Honma’s have a very modest offset. At address the club had a thin top line and set up easier and better, in my opinion, than the MX-20’s, Hogan Apex Plus, Cleveland or Callaway. It just seemed easier to aim than the MX-20’s; that is a big thing for me. The weight felt real nice. In my head I began to think, these clubs are like Super Ping’s on steroids. These clubs a unreal. The shaft is far better than the Fujikura Pro Vista 70 that I had on my Mizuno's. The clubs are very easy to hit. When you blast them they go where you want them to go. In terms of distances, they are without a doubt the longest irons that I ever hit. I am 1+ to 2 clubs longer on my middle and long irons; quite a signifcant number. You can work the ball for fades or draws quite easily. The go up high and land soft. I know if the ball does not go where it should, then it is my fault. That is very meaningful to an equipment junkie. I know they are serious money; however, I do not think that I will ever look at another brand again for irons. That says it all.

Customer Service

They keep your records on file if you want to order another set they have your specs. Because my set was custom, it took 11 weeks, but is worth it.

Similar Products Used:

Mizuno MX-20 with Fujikura Pro Vista 70 shafts/ Hogan Apex Tour/ Callaway X-14 and generations of Callaway before that/Various models of Ping

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 12, 2003]
Mario Henriquez
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Twin Marks Alfa Memorial

These clubs with the doric titanium shafts are fabulous. Straight as an arrow and easy to hit, a little heavy on the heads but that is why they go far with minimum effort. They are expensive, but well worth the price. Plus they look like works of art rather than golf clubs. I own two sets, one is gold plated and is the envy of all my friends.

Customer Service

not needed yet

Similar Products Used:

Honma LB280 Honma twin marks fairway woods Homna Twin Marks Driver

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 05, 2003]
hiro
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: honma

i had never hit honma clubs but had heard the were very good. i saw a set of pp717 tour blades and tried them. having played good quality blades i have never found anything to compare with these. i was going to get a set of the new srixon blades. no way. the honma,s are just fantastic. they have the ball flight i have been looking for and they are long...........very long. although they were used clubs they hade been well looked after. if you play blades try to find a set of these. you wont be disapointed.

Similar Products Used:

nike,topflite, ping,zevo,taylor made, all blades or similar

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 25, 2002]
KH K
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: LB 708

Initially it was a very difficult set to play. After one month it began to work wonders and now my score is in the low 80's....

Customer Service

Never tried it yet...

Similar Products Used:

I have S-Yard driver, Calloway ERC II 3 wood and Honma irons....the best there is in the market...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com