Mizuno MX-950 Irons

MX-950

MIZUNO’s goal in the creation of the new MX-950 was to deliver the most friendly game improvement iron set with no limit on cutting edge Technology. The new MX-950 irons are a breakthrough HYBRID DESIGNED set, with the unique ability to be custom built to your individual specifications. The MX-950’s are ideal for the mid to high handicap player who is looking for ease of launch, unparalleled forgiveness and maximum game improvement playability.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
marc   Shoots in the 100s [Aug 15, 2012]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mx 950

I'm a beginner in golf (started last March this year). A friend gave me an MX 15 #6 iron which convinced me to start playing golf since I could really hit it long and straight ( unlike hitting my driver with severe slice). Yesterday, I got my MX 950 iron set, and for the first time really can make #3 and #4 iron really fly BIG TIME!Of course, they are hybrids but I have tried several hybrids too and nothing even come close to the consistency and confidence it has added to my game.
I have the standard graphite, regular flex shaft on my set and it helps me a lot in creating super high flight trajectories in my hits. The other reviews about the wonderful feel and forgiveness is TRUE!
My friend commented positively on my hits and I encouraged him to upgrade to a Mizuno.
"The only thing better than a Mizuno is getting a Mizuno for free."

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jay Lamothe   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX 950

I have been playing golf 5 years.
I bought my MX 950s about two years ago and have hit thousands of balls with them and played at least a hundred fifty rounds of golf.I put regular flex Grafalloy blue graphites in them a few have Mizuno Exsar regular flex graphites and ar comparable..
I am 53 years old and hit the ball pretty well. 8 iron 165 pitching wedge 145 and so on.
I was shooting in the 90s pretty regularly.I immediately dropped into the 80s and broke 80 for the first time last year.
I often leave my driver at home and use my 3 hybrid as my driver.People question this for about two tee shots and then want to knw what it is.
I easily hit it 240 and straight as an arrow.
The hybrid style irons are almost impossible to hit badly.They go further than any other I have tried and even miss hits go straight.I would not trade these irons for new of any brand.Go get some.You will be thrilled!
Jay

Customer Service

not great.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bubba   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: MX-950 3-PW, Graphite S-Flex

Been stuck at low 80s for two years with Callaway Big Bertha irons, steel shafts. Played with these yesterday and shot a clean 74 from the big boy tees! 2 clubs longer thru the set with smoother swing. Exsar feels a bit weird of you don't let set the club at top or get quick in tempo. However, everything comes off the face with a nice 5-7yd draw. A bit hard to hit a high cut, but I wasn't really trying, just letting the natural flight work so I could learn the clubs. I love the progressive set and thinner soles than the Callaways. The hybrid 3 and 4 are absolutely smoking hot, but come off the face in a hard 15yd draw. If you've learned to strike the ball decently with your old set of forgiveness irons, but not really ready to jump to a "players" set, I HIGHLY recommend these. I did a lot of research and even tried to hit a set of MP-52 and 62, with dissapointing results. I got these new on E-bay for $350. Get a set today, you won't regret it!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Marky_Green   Shoots in the 90s [May 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-950

Bought this set barely used on Ebay six weeks ago for a very reasonable price. Standard steel shafts. My decision for the MX-950 was mainly motivated by the very positive feedback the other reviewers gave concerning the game improvement factor of this set. And they were all right! The forgiveness is amazing: toe and heel shots are still going straight, thin hits still fly have almost the length of a normal shot. The (fewer) times I hit the ball exactly in the way it’s meant to be, the longer irons make a “click” sound, give little feedback but have a nice high, long and consistent flight. The shorter irons (8-PW) are very different in feel; certainly less forgiving, they give me as a rookie in the game an idea how “buttery” a good golf shot can be. You actually don’t hear a sound when hitting them correctly. Given the fact that I’m quite confident with shorter iron shots, thus have less need of forgiveness there, the combination of completely different designed longer and shorter irons is amazing.Different for the long irons (3 and 4) which are actually hybrids here: so far, I’m not as convinced about their performance. I was expecting from them to extend my available length (I’m not playing fairway woods) especially for longer Par 3s and all Par 5s from 165 yards (with the 5 iron) to 180-190 yards, but obviously swing speed and precison of my swing isn’t sufficient (yet) to put that extra length they offer into effect. It’s probably still easier with those hybrids than it would be with long irons, and I still need some practice. Drawback of such a forgiving set of clubs with helped me to finish my round consistently with 10 shots less, without effort: I get lazy and less concentrated while hitting them, so there are certainly not helping to really improve my game. Conclusion: great set of clubs that I would recommend for anyone who struggles with a consistent, repeatable swing. They are able to open up a whole new gameplay for you!

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: No experience.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Cam   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-950

I bought a set of Ping G15's just before Christmas, really disappointed. Had no real sweet spot, were about 1 club shorter than my existing clubs and the new conforming grooves sent me through the greens everytime even with Pro v1's. Decided to buy a set of MX-950's and took them to the range today. They are a quatum leap better than the G15's. The feel of these clubs is like nothing I've hit before and the hybrids are awesome. Nice high ball flight with a straight to fade bias. Also have the non conforming grooves, which will see me out to 2024. They are at good prices at the moment with the new MX-1000's released. Dont buy Pings until you try these.

Similar Products Used: Srixon Tour Specials
Ping G15
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bbusse   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 08, 2009]
Model Reviewed: mx-950

Good iron for the better player I had a
hard time hitting them on the sweet spot.
Went back to my G10s for the forgiveness factor

Customer Service

na

Similar Products Used: G10s
I3s
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
jsgodwin   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX 950

So you can see where I'm coming from...I routinely shoot in the 100 to 105 range and have only broke 100 once in my two years of playing. I struggle hitting any iron longer than my 6. I started with a $120 set of Rams. I play maybe 15 rounds/yr.
I'm no expert, but I got plenty of input from others who think they are when it came to buying new clubs. I picked up this set after spending way too much time trying to decide what to buy. I hit all the following before making a decision:Ping G10, X-22, A3OS, Burner, Slingshot and several more. I couldn't pass up the clearance price on these clubs, especially after hitting them. I took them to the range the same day and except for a thin or fat shot, they all went straight and felt great. I had been to the range 3 times before finally getting to play a round with them this morning. For those of you needing a game improvement set, buy these if you can. I shot my best round of 98, and actually used every iron during my round today. I'm excited about raising my level of play and these clubs absolutely rock!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
MC   Shoots in the 90s [May 31, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MX-950 Graphite Regular Shaft

Thanks Mizuno!

I'm in my mid-late 30s and hasn't played golf for 2 years. After moving to Florida, I started playing golf again with my old Callaway X-12 clubs. I used to shoot mid-80s constantly but my best score after 10 rounds was a mere 93. Half of my rounds were over 100.

I finally gave up on my old irons and decided to switch the equipment. After extensive research, I have chosen MX-950 for its progressive design.

After 3 days of practice with the new set, I took them to a course where I shot 120 from white tee. Guess what? I lowered my score by 35 shots and shot 85 from blue tee. This is 8 shots better than my best round in a year.

With these irons, I can get the ball up high and stop dead on the green. I'm glad that I gave up on ego and chose regular flex. I realized that my swing speed is no longer fast enough for steel or stiff-flex shaft.

If you are struggling with your old set, I highly recommend MX-950. It's probably more expensive than other sets but it's worth it considering if you don't use 3 and 4 irons. I was going to buy hybrids any way.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
zorro1900   Shoots in the 90s [May 16, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-950

Well let me tell you.. I have been playing for a long time with an old set of crappy clubs.. finally decided to upgrade and after reading many internet reviews/trips to the local golf store, etc.. I went for these Mizuno. They are just fantastic and dropped my score from the mid 90s to now 70-80... I am a happy customer..

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Hostile Hazard   Shoots in the 100s [Apr 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-950

After been learning with a set of Titleist DCI 990, I decide to upgrade my iron set (they are really hard to hit.....for me)and after a long research we went with Mizuno MX-950, Hybrids (3 and 4) are my new favorites, now I can hit shoots from the 180 yards and Up without using my 3 wood, and the higher you go with the loft the easier you can hit them.
At the beginning It feels it a little bit shorts, but after 2 rounds you stop feeling that way.
They look really nice on the bag and the hybrids covers are sharp too.
If you are looking to have fun, learn the game and lower your score this is it, probably one day you will be able to use MP-60's

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Titleist DCI 990
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com