Snake Eyes Forged Irons

Snake Eyes Forged Irons 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 21  
[Dec 17, 2004]
brian dreblow
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: taylor made tour copperface wedges

great clubs.. pin seekers! soft touch and good acurate distance. outfitted now with squishy winn grips makes for a comfortable and even more deadly approaches. couldn't be much happier with the clubs.

Customer Service

bought at a second hand store for only twenty bucks a pop. recently found at another second hand store for 45 bucks.. do research and you will win.

Similar Products Used:

titlest vokey, cleveland, and ping copper heads.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 17, 2004]
brian dreblow
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: snake eyes 600c forged irons

recently i decided to go the custom club route. i hit roughly every top of the line irons, and then came to snake eyes. the gentleman helping me at golfsmith said for my swing speed and overall play that the snake eyes are probably my best bet. he couldn't have been more acurate. now having played the 600c's, i'm hitting the ball more consistanly, and truthfully with lots more confidence. i outfitted the irons with formula one rifled steel shafts and golf pride grips. i believe anybody who is somewhat of a descent golfer should give these clubs a go. it's been well worth it for me.

Customer Service

golfsmith is a fantastic store with a faculty that can tend to every need you may have. knowledgablt and prompt. can't and will probably never find a better source of information and products. great job guys..

Similar Products Used:

ping i3, and hogan apex

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 29, 2004]
Doug411
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 600C

As I'm not a scratch or single-digit player, I have a inconsitency hitting the ball at the dead center of my clubs. But I really love the feel those blade-like small forged heads give. I first tried 600B, which are muscle back, liked them. I also gave a try to 600C, which are half-muscle half-cavity back, I LOVE THEM! The feel is not like any others. I just become to want hitting the balls with my irons all day long. I got 10 more yards distance compared to my old big-bulky beginner's clubs. I also can work the balls more. Fade, punch, draw, etc. Not much though, as I'm not good enough to do that at will. One thing I also want to emphasize is how good Royal Precision's Project-X shafts are. They are just unbelievable piece of technology. I can't praise enough. State of the art steel shaft, giving all the merits of graphite.

Similar Products Used:

Many many irons you can name.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 19, 2004]
rnaramore
Shoots in the 70s

Very nice clubs. I have played ping eye 2 for the last 15 years. I love the way these clubs look and I think they are at least a half club longer than my pings. I actually think the smaller sole makes it easier to hit the ball first (then the ground) than the big soled pings. I am very happy with my choice, and the process of making them is kind of fun.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 19, 2004]
borntorock55
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes 600B/C

I've been playing with Maxfli Revolution Black Dots for the past 3 years. The softer feel of these clubs compared to cast steel really got me thinking that I'd like some forged heads but was unsure about going to a full set of blades as I play off 14. However the new cavity back/blade combinations really appealed to me. My local range has a good shop where they do custom fitting so I tried MacGregor V-Foils (great feel but too much offset for me), Ping i3's (yuk ! felt like hitting a garden spade) and the Snake Eyes which I loved. Great feel, accurate and 10-15 yards longer than my Revolutions. I've also played Snake Eyes wedges for a while now so I knew they produce a great product. Anyway they quote me £65 per iron custom fitted with R300 Dynamic Gold Shafts and Snake Eyes tour wrap grips (which are not great). For you guys reading this in the US that's $1,000 for nine irons !!! (and you kick up dust about gas being $2 a gallon). To cut a long story short I found a guy called Jim McLain in SC who is GCA Eastern Region Clubmaker of the year and he built them for me with the Dynamic Gold shafts plus full cord Snake Eyes grips for $390. I got 4/5/6 in cavity back and 7 - SW blades and they are great. First outing to the range I'm hitting 5 iron 185 instead of 170 and I creamed one 4 iron 210 yds and that was with range balls. You know when you hit off centre, but they are quite forgiving and get you focused on producing a reliable repetetive swing. Centred hits look like they are going to go forever and feel a knife going through butter. These are beautiful looking clubs that perform and you can have made to your own spec. Why anyone buys a lot of the mass produced stuff on the market beats me.

Customer Service

Snake Eyes are Golfsmith owned but I dealt direct with clubmaker Jim McLain in SC. Fantastic price, fantastic service and beautifully made. Custom ordered on Wednesday and received in the UK on the following Monday.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 03, 2004]
powerdraw
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes FMC-1 irons

I recently switched to these irons after years of playing Ping i3's. I tried every forged blade and cavity back there was and the FMC-1's were as good as any. I lost no distance from the Ping's and I found these as forgiving as any cavity back irons made. Don't let the thin sole scare you, these are not tough to play. These are as good as it gets.

Customer Service

Golfsmith stocks what you need and they ship gear when they say they will (uncommon nowadays).

Similar Products Used:

Hogan Apex blades, Ping i3's.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 01, 2004]
TommyN
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes 600C

I bought a set of forged Snake Eyes 600C at thegolfshed.com for this season. I was going to replace my good, but "clumsy", Top Flite XL2000. After testing many clubs (listed below) I realized that I wanted a more "blade like" club with little offset, but still not pure blades. (I love the feel in these kind of clubs) I tested several clubs, the Ping G2's were amazing and I would have bought them if they were better priced (not blade like clubs, but very good ones), as were the Deep Red Tour and Mizuno MP-30. However, after some consulting with the staff at thegolfshed I came to buy the Snake Eyes 600C with Dynamic gold stiff shafts. Ive had these clubs for a couple of months now and have played around 10 rounds with them. I really like the feel and looks of these clubs, and was surprised with the forgiveness. I had been worrying about playing consistant with these clubs, since I was used to large cavities. Also with the trajectory when I changed to Stiff shafts. I get a high trajectory with all clubs except the 3 iron, where its relatively low (don't know why, perhaps my swing speed is too low for it). Off center hits really "tells" you that it is off center, but the ball still goes where I intend. In a way these clubs are real "game improvers" since I really know and feel how I am hitting. However, the clubs are relatively difficult so hit, so perhaps not the best choice for the high handicappers (compared to Ping G2 wich I think will fit pretty much all players). But when hit correctly, and if you like to "work" with the clubs, they respond very well. A very sweet feel on impact, good and consitant trajectories and ball paths. I get good discance as well. I would easily compare these clubs to the "brand names" that I've tried. Just as good, or in many cases, better. To sum up, the positives are: these clubs are very attractive to look at, forged, very good when hit clean, reasonably forgiving, good lenght and consistant, and very nice feel. On the negative: Not that forgiving compared to some other clubs, they can be a bit difficult for higher handicappers, not much offset (if you like that, wich I dont), not that large clubheads so you have to hit more clean. All in all very good clubs that Im really happy with and that are going to stay in my bag for a long time.

Customer Service

thegolfshed.com has got an excellent customer service, with personal advice and customizing. Was content with all help and assistance. The only thing negative was that the wedge I bought wasnt the right lenght, but that got solved easily. So no problems at all.

Similar Products Used:

Wilson Deep Red Tour, Mizuno MP-30, Ping G2, Top Flite XL2000, Top Flite Tour, Cleveland TA6

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2004]
kwinfield
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes 600B/600C

The Snake Eyes 600B and 600C series irons. The 600B is a forged blade and the 600C is a forged cavity back iron. The irons can be combined to make a terrific combo set. The clubs use a 5 step forging process from S45C carbon steel. These clubs are very sweet. If you are looking for a blade or cavity back or combination set, check these out before you buy. I've played with other forged clubs, both cavity back and blade style and these are as good as any of the $900 OEM sets.

Customer Service

Great service. I built one club to test and the salespeople spent as much time with me as if I were buying a proline set. I've since completed the set and wouldn't trade them straight up for a set of forged clubs from one of the major companies

Similar Products Used:

Titleist 690CB, Nike Pro-Combo and Mizuno MP-30

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 24, 2003]
battingninth
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: FCM-1 forged blades

I was playing with a set of armour 855s that i did pretty good with but ones i saw these at golfsmith.com for real cheap i order a 6 iron and assembled it (to see if i was interested) and i immediately bought the rest of the set. I will never use those freakin offset irons again. The FCM-1 is fairly unforgiving but after i got a feel for the irons that was a minor issue. They are very workable and I highly reccommmend them to any mid to low handicapper who likes the look of a blade and the great feel you get when you pure one of these beasts! Mill Cove, represent!

Customer Service

Golfsmith.com knows how to run their stuff, great service

Similar Products Used:

my friends ta3(better set up to the ball but less forgiving, equally as crucial) titelist 690 cb (sweetest crap ever but who has $900, not my poor ass)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 19, 2003]
azclarkdc
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes MC-01

I love these irons. Bought them used, with 6.0 rifle shafts, at 1 inch long, perfect set up for me. The look is real clean and sharp, and the feel and ball flight is sweet. I hit them longer than my old cavity back irons, but the best part is the joy of hitting the ball. The club requires a good swing. Not for the occassional golfer who hacks the ball all over.

Customer Service

Have not used

Similar Products Used:

Wilson staffs, Ram Laser, McGregor MT KZG,Mizuno, Nike, Hogan, Ping. Tried just about all of them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com