Titleist AP2 Irons

Available At:
AP2

Titleist AP2 712 3-PW Iron Set with Steel Shafts Dedicated to providing serious golfers with the highest performing equipment in golf, Titleist introduces the next generation of its groundbreaking Advanced Performance irons. The new Titleist AP2 Iron stays true to the design mission of Advanced Performance with Feel. It is a multi-material, dual cavity iron that provides modern ball flight and forgiveness with the traditional look, feel, and sound that serious golfers have come to expect from a

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
Muscatv1n   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 07, 2013]
Model Reviewed: 710 AP2

I've used the AP2 (2 versions) for 4 years, and they are long, accurate, forgiving, quite compact at address and relatively soft. True they are not as accurate as blades. In northern Europe, playing blades would be brutal. Why punish yourself with a club that hasn't changed much in 20+ years. Sorry, I'm not into this ego, nonsense!! I would rather play consistent golf.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: AP2 (original), MP53, Ping eye 2+, Titleist 962, Cobra baffler
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Drew Bunnin   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 24, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Titleist AP2

I have to laugh when all these tools say that good ball-strikers should play blades and that AP2s are for truly skilled players. Tell that to Webb Simpson and Steve Stricker...

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
CT   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 18, 2012]
Model Reviewed: AP2

I have been playing the ap2 for two years now. I special ordered with my specs and NS shafts. However, it is important to note that these are not blades. They are not even close to the feel of a true forged blade. If you are a long term committed forged blade player you should really consider why you want to go to the ap2. I have found them to be longer and considerably more forgiving than say a forged 670 blade. But the trade off is the feel and accuracy of a well struck shot. So far I guess I am willing to continue making that trade off. But I sometimes do miss the feel of a forged blade. I don't miss the inconsistent scoring though.

Customer Service

Golfsmith custom order was perfect.

Similar Products Used: Titleist, Wilson, Hogan, Snake Eyes and Golfsmith Blade Irons.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
John Fairway   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 26, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Titleist AP2 710

Most of the really good players at my private club play the AP2. Titleist is one of the brands our pro really pushes because he wants us to all play better. You can tell with these irons that they are made with more exactness. Actually, I think I may play better with the Callaway Razr's but the AP2s look way better in the bag.

I may get the Titleist 710 forged blades just to up the ante a little more. Give myself something to think about when I'm lining up a 180 yard shot with a little wind to the left.

My wife bought me the AP2s but I wish she would have done what I told her to do and ordered the CBs or the blades. She never does anything right.

Well, I'm going out to the course now. I like just going out there by myself because I always shoot great scores. I play 3 balls at a time.

Customer Service

Those guys are great.

Similar Products Used: Just Titleist
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Sam Davies   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 23, 2012]
Model Reviewed: titleist ap2

When it comes to my irons I look for something that looks nice at address but more importantly is able to work the ball left to right and vis versa. The impact of these clubs are crisp and the turf interaction is better than my previous clubs (mizuno mp 62) which just didn't offer the forgiveness I have been looking for as I have been looking to take my current hobby to a job! The set I have been custom fitted for are ap2's from 3 to 6 iron, and cb from 7 to pitching wedge. At first I was worried about the transaction but they perform brilliantly together with the look at address very similar. Overall I would highly recommend these clubs to anyone from a scratch to 13 handicap, and blend if you feel like you need to! Combo irons are the way forward!

Similar Products Used: Titleist 735.cm, Taylormade Rac TP, Mizuno mp 62 and 30
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
fairwaysplitter   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 01, 2012]
Model Reviewed: AP2

I have to go with Famous Davis on these. Ballflight is too high, more about looking cool than scoring. Titleist advertises them for the skilled to highly skilled player. Well if your skilled you don't need a club that launches so high. Not near the feel of my 695cb's. If your going to play a forged iron play a "true" forged iron like the 690, 695, ZM, ZB, or the new CB or MB. Your supposed to hit irons in the center of the face anyway, so who needs forgiveness? If you hit it solid you won't like these unless your ballflight is too low. Workability is not even close to a true forged iron. Case and point. I hooked my drive behind a tree at my home club. 160 out into a 25mph wind, had to go over a tree 20 yards in front of me and fade it 30 yards to an island green off a downhill lie in the rough. Hit both 6 irons. The 695 cb? 8ft for bird (made the putt too ;) The AP2? Over the tree but no fade with open club face in the water left. Famous Davis was right on about these. KOOLAID. Man up and play a "real" forged iron, and listen to Famous Davis when he tells you hacks about clubs, any "good" ballstriker wouldn't have these in the bag.

Customer Service

Good

Similar Products Used: Titleist 695, 735, 755. Mizuno MP32, MP60
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
ldb4golf   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 07, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Titleist AP2 710

I purchased a set of AP2s with ALDILA VS PROTO-T 75 graphite shafts a month ago. I used a Titleist fitter and spent a couple of mornings hitting shots - highly recommended. I also wanted to be sure that the high, straight shots were not the result of good swings on one particular day. The feel and consistency of these clubs was superior to any of the other clubs that I evaluated: Mizuno JPX-800 Pro; Callaway RAZR X Tour and Diablo Forged; and Nike Victory Red Combo. I particularly like the feel of the clubs, with the weight more toward the head. There is reasonable forgiveness on shots struck on the heel or toe, but you do lose some distance. But the feel of well-struck shots is what makes these clubs special.

I have now had a chance to play about 12 rounds with the clubs, and they continue to impress with their playability and consistency. I have dropped about 5 shots since playing these clubs and truly feel that I can accomplish my goal of dropping my handicap below 10. Impressive clubs even for an "ex"-13 handicap.

Customer Service

The clubs were delivered in 5 days with special ordered Lamkin REL 3GEN grips.

Similar Products Used: Prior set: Taylormade R7 TP
Tested: Mizuno JPX-800 Pro; Callaway RAZR X Tour and Diablo Forged; and Nike Victory Red Combo
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Klaus Krohn   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 01, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Titlest AP2 Irons 3-PW

Background of a reviewer is helpful to understand perspective and skill of said golfer. For 10 years I've been playing with a set of Ping Eye 2 circa 1992s 3-SW...regripped em last year... classic look and feel. very forgiving for the time which gave up shot shaping ability,they aint no blades. I am 54 years old and have played golf since I was 9. I still suck but haven't given up just yet because these new irons rock. AP2 is a blade iron with all the forgiveness of a cavity back. These forged irons are pricey but when tested on the slate the standard setup fit me to a tee...Im 6'2" and the length of shaft and angle of lie where spot on out of the box as if these were made for me.
With this confidence of setting up to the club,
, the look of a blade at the top edge ( the ping was fat) said "hit me and shape it". Oh my, who is the designer of these irons, I knocked the sh.t out of them
with more accuracy and confidence than the old Pings.
Outstanding feel, more distance (not that I need it, it just happens.....sssweet) shape a shot just by face open or closed. Sweet spot shots fly off the face of these Titlest irons. Off center shots fly with more forgiveness than the old Pings. Wanted to try the Ping G15s but I loved the look of the AP2 witch translated into a club that is the future Now. Sorry my set has old school steel TT Dynamic Gold S300 shafts. Old and New gotta love it! . I have spent 2 hours on the range with them,so they have not lowered my score, won friends, or influenced people.
These AP2s are crisp, clean, and clear.
My putting is a work in progress, so this review is suspect since my driver has a mind of it's own. Nice grips too!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Phelspy   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 17, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ap2 710

These clubs are a very good set fairway, but I have have a few
shots from in the trees ect. And they are not very workable, my neighbour with a 2 handicapp has thesmae problem, but other than that, they are a great set of clubs for anyone.

Customer Service

I just tried them for a few rounds and bought them.

Similar Products Used: Titleist 735.cm irons.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Anthony Stelmaschuk   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 05, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Titleist AP2

I have been golfing since I was 11 (sadly 52 years ago) and was fitted for a set of AP2's with Dynamic Gold 300 shafts 6 weeks ago for AUS$1160 at Drummond golf. The irons are, without a doubt, the best irons I have ever played. Shots come off the club with plenty of length, nice high trajectory, and a soft feel. I use a Pro V1X ball and shots to the green stop with plenty of back spin. The AP2's have a softer sound when striking the ball than my previous irons. This was a bit unsettling at first but it adds to the nice "touch" feel of the clubs. The irons have a consistent gap of 8 metres between clubs: 8 iron good for 140 m, 7 iron good for about 148 m, 6 for 156 m, 5 for 164m, etc.
The Ap2's not only play well, but look great from all angles!

Customer Service

Drummond Golf was very helpful in fitting the irons. They took several measurements and I ended up with 3/4 in longer shafts and slightly thicker grips.

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour, Callaway, Mizuno
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com