Tom Wishon Golf 550c Cavity Back Irons

550c Cavity Back

* 550C are a true forged carbon steel design, made from a softer alloy of Carbon Steel called 1035C with lower carbon content for allowing the forging process to pack the steel tighter and improve grain structure and reduce internal voids * 550C is a true Cavity Back design, which means it is forgiving on off-center hits and recommended for all levels of players * TWGT uses a 5-step forging process which is one more step than most all other forged irons; the additional step is done to compress the steel tighter in the head and to help reduce the amount of grinding that is required to prepare the irons for nickel/chrome electro-plating. This also ensures more consistency of shape in the set. * The progressive offset from 3.5mm in the #2 and 3 irons, down to 2.0mm in the short irons is more like what the pros on the PGA Tour have started to like, more than a total non-offset design.

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
Hilde   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 19, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Tom Wishon 555C

I was introduced to the Tom Wishon 555C by a club fitter who was recommended to me by a friend. My intent was to get some more name brand irons but was impressed with the look of the 555C and so I gave them a shot. I'm glad I did. Although they are the first truly forged irons I've owned, and I cannot compare to others, the playability of these irons are the best I have ever owned. My previous 3 sets of irons have been Ping and while there are some small differences that I miss from those irons, I'm overall more impressed with the TW 555C once they were fit and the small adjustments were done in the second fitting. My handicap went from a 6 to a 4 last year and I have to believe it was because I have very good irons that were fit properly for me.

Customer Service

No need for TW service. My clubfitter has made some minor adjustments and has completely stood behind his product and service.

Similar Products Used: First set of forged irons so no true comparible.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
famousdavis   Scratch Golfer [Feb 09, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Wishon 550

I took these clubs out for a test drive the other day. I've heard some ramblins about Wishon this and Wishon that. I Wishon everyone would just shut the hell up. Anyway, took 'em to the range. My dispersion rate was somewhat higher than with my Ping Eye 2 irons. What most of you don't realise is that Ping Eye 2 irons are the best iron ever made. It is the perfect balance of head weight, shaft and grip. I'm an excellent ball striker...much better than any of you so you know I must be right.

Customer Service

Didn't call. Just dropped off the clubs at the pro shop and went back to the Eye 2's.

Similar Products Used: I've used them all but the Ping Eye 2's are the best.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
golfnut88   Scratch Golfer [Sep 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wishon 550 Combo iron set

I play Wishon 550's 2-6CB; 7-PW MB with DGS300. I play to a +2 Hndcp and have played competively for sometime. These irons are fantastic! Best described as workable irons that inpire confidence at address and are easy to flight the ball. Thanks Wishon for such a great product.

I need to put in a plug for Shane at thegolfshed.com. I have worked with many excellent clubfitters over my time and Shane is the best. He gives excellent customer service, is very knowledgeable, and cares about the product you will receive. Not to mention his extremely competitive pricing. He has my business for life! Thanks Shane.

Customer Service

Have not needed them. I use my clubfitter for advice and concerns.

Similar Products Used: KZG ZO blades; Srixon Pro-100's; Mizuno MP 33's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sbaruffi@enter.net   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Wishon 550C

As an older golfer (56) who still fancies himself as a decent iron player, I am reviewing these a second time. I just bought a backup set with Dynamic Gold S300 shafts and this set is entirely cavity back, presumably standard loft and lie.

I did not even take this second set to the driving range, and just got back from the course now after hitting numerous good iron shots including a hole out for eagle from 135 yards (knockdown 8 iron into the wind). I am amazed at the reviewer who found these irons harsh. I would have to believe he was not swinging as well as he is capable. The feel of these irons is anything but harsh, only Mizuno comes close to the feeling of hitting a pure Wishon 550 iron.

Like I said and emphasize, these irons are great and the best feeling out there (although I have not tried all the Hogan irons). Was I just lucky to find two great sets, one with Rifle 5.0 shafts and another with Dynamic Gold S300 shafts? If so, than I should start packing for Vegas because I am not all that great a ball striker. I can barely hit a 5 iron any longer. I hit a driver about 230 yards and my 7 iron about 150 tops. My only complaint ever about my first Wishon set is that the A wedge or gap wedge was not a perfect fit for me (I seemed to pull it left more than I should, so I use a Cleveland 52* now). My newer set did not include the gap wedge.

I still maintain that these irons are better than Mizuno MP37's, Hogan, Ping, Maltby Callaway, Armour V25, Ram Nickel, Srixon I302's you name it. Don't let one bad reviewer dissuade you from purchasing these. I don't work for Wishon (though I would love to meet the man), but I don't believe there are more quality clubs out there, and I have hit hundreds over my 40 years of golf.
Give these a try if you get a chance. They are still available at "are you kidding me" prices on ebay. I don't think you have to be a great ball striker to use these irons. As far as workability, I am not the best one to speak to that as I am just happy with a nice straight ball. I do generally set up for a draw and my ball flight is generally mid trajectory. If I do hit a fade with these, I generally need one extra club to get home.

Obviously if you are not hitting the ball well, you should not be reviewing irons. Most of us in the 9-15 handicap range have days where the club feels like a foreign object in our hands and would be better off weilding a croquet mallet. But after using my first set of Wishon's for over 2 years and now finding instant happiness with a new set, I don't think my ravings are irrational exuberance. As always, do your own due diligence, get fitted if necessary and all the other usual disclaimers apply.

Customer Service

Never have needed any, total quality.

Similar Products Used: Listed above.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
masangui   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Wishon 550C

I have been playing for about a year a set of Wishon 550C irons with Dynamic Gold SL R300 shafts and I couldn´t be happier. These clubs are very accurate and very easy to hit for a cavity-back golf head. They are not the longest-hitting irons as their lofts are more "traditional" than most golf clubs manufactured nowadays. Regarding feeling, they feel harder than the Mizuno MX-20 irons I used to play but they are OK.

Customer Service

I have not used it.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MX-20 and Taylor Made 200 irons. Both of them are great clubs too, but the Wishon 550C irons work better for me.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Gordon Olson   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Wishon 550c

First off - love this forum.
This review is not really a review it is a suggestion for golfreview.com

The drop down that describes the level of play should be re-thought. Using the drop down menu and having a 10 stroke variance to me is not that useful. There is a HUGE difference in someone who shoots 81 and someone that shoots 87...HUGE. I would take the reviews more seriously if I was reading a review by someone who is a similar ball striker. On the 550c irons.

Similar Products Used: Ping i3+, R7
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Peter Murdoch   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 15, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Wishon 550c forged Irons

Wishon 550c heads combined with custom fit lightweight steel shaft from an independant club maker in Singapore following a fitting session have provided a step change in performance and scoring.

Consistent performance in distance and increased ability to shape shots relative to prior cavity irons.

Have found chipping with 9 Iron particularily rewarding with increased confidence in getting weight of shots right.

Increased confidence in Mid iron range has resulted in increased frequency of attacking the flag rather than going for heart of the green.

very comfortable with 4-iron and downwards but do still find 3 iron slightly 'dull' in contact.

Have had set for @ 9 months now and handicap has fallen from 14.7 to 11.7 with more to come !

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Greg Stoyle   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 12, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Wishon 550 C/M Combo

As a way of introduction, I have been playing golf for more than 40 years and outside of using Tommy Armour 845's when they first came out, I have played with forged clubs. I just love the feel and responsiveness. Much of that time was spent playing blades and although my handicap is now in the low double digit range, it was as low as a 6 in my playing days. I went forward with a purchase of the Wishon 550's based on the reviews in this forum and it was a huge mistake. I don't really understand all of these positive reviews. Overall, these clubs are harsh feeling, unforgiving and totally unrewarding. In fact, I have not played a set of forged irons that had such a poor feel. The clubs look beautiful out of the box, but that's where the love affair ends. The set that I purchased was a combo set of 3-7 cavity backs and 8-SW in the muscle backs.

Cavity Backs - I find the sole on these clubs to be too wide and I suspect that is one of the reasons why the cavity backs have no workability at all. I really couldn't work the ball flight with these clubs and I had a difficult time making solid contact. When I did, it did not have the nice buttery feel of a forged club.

Muscle Backs - Despite having only the 8-SW with the musclke back option, I found that these clubs have zero in the way of feel. If there is a sweet spot on these clubs, I couldn't find it.

Fit and Finish - As indicated, the clubs look great out of the box but the finish wears poorly. Despite only a half dozen trips to the range and several rounds, these clubs look as though I have owned them for years.

Spine Align and MOI - As far as I'm concerned, this is just a bunch of hype and I couldn't find any benefit to this process at all.

Overall - I had hoped that component clubs had made some advances but in my opinion, this is not the case with the Wishon 550's. They are really just cheaply made knock-offs as far as I'm concerned. If after reading this review, you are still motivated to buy this set of clubs, DO NOT make the mistake that I did and rely on a static fitting through a mail order/internet retailer. Shame on me for thinking that could be accomplished - it really can't - despite what you will be told. The fitting of golf clubs needs to be done through swing analysis so don't be fooled into thinking that you can take a few measurements and everything will be all right!!

Value Rating - The reason for the low score on the value rating is primarily due to the saleability of these clubs if they don't work for you. Unlike most OEM clubs, these clubs have little to no value on the resale market. In this case, a $700 set of clubs has a resale value of about $100.

Summary - I tried the component club option and obviously, it's not something that I would recommend.

Customer Service

Very good (Wishon Golf), but I don't know what good that does if you are stuck with a set of unusable golf clubs!!

Similar Products Used: Ben Hogan Apex Plus
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
steve   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Wishon 550c/550M Combo

Excellent forged clubs. i bought these on a whim and hit the ground running. They are every bit as sweet feeling as my Mizuno MP-37's and the longer clubs are more forgiving...i.e. my 4-7 cavity backs. The 8-AW are muscle backs and also very easy to hit. They have a thin top line and look great over the ball. I haven't felt this confident in my irons in quite a while. They are supposedly standard loft and lie but I checked the websites for lie angles and the Wishon standards are even slightly more upright than the Mizuno's which I got at 2* up. I got lucky in that the clubs seem a perfect fit for me, but I would recommend getting them fitted, it can make a big difference. Bottom line, check these out if you like forged irons, they are excellent quality at a very good price.

I am so impressed with Wishon quality that I plan to get some woods and maybe a driver to check them out as well.

Similar Products Used: Armour V25's (very good), Mizuno Pro (very good), Mizuno MP-37 (excellent)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
brazman   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 550c/m combo

After much research and deliberation, I decided to go for the 550c/m combo set. Being in Australia however meant that cost was an issue so I teed up Shane Springer at the Golf Shed to build my clubs. Shane's advice was invaluable, and I am now the proud owner of a beautiful set of irons. Shane recommended that I build the set to MOI, and I am very happy with the result. Each club in the bag has the same feel which is great. I've found my distance control and accuracy has really stepped up.
My old irons just didn't give me the same confidence, except for a couple of particular clubs. With MOI though, it's like all the clubs are my favourite!
I got them fitted with Rifle Flighted in 3-PW and Rifle Spinners in the SW and PCF LW. Great shafts!
Teamed up with my new 949MC hand picked 10* driver, and I feel some low numbers are just around the corner.

Customer Service

Shane at the Golf Shed is great. We exchanged many emails (I'm in Australia) discussing specs, and the end result is a great set at a great price. If you want Wishon's, talk to Shane.

Similar Products Used: Before buying the 550s, also hit demo Titleist 735; Ping i5 and Tours and various others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com