Callaway HX Tour 56 Balls

Callaway HX Tour 56 Balls 

DESCRIPTION

  • Three-piece golf ball
  • Callaway Golf's thinnest cover yet is soft
  • Tour-type trajectory
  • High-grade rubber and dense tungsten

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 37  
[Jun 18, 2009]
ch8
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Tour56

Picked up these balls as they are on special at 30/dzn.

I will like this ball it is very soft great ball flight and gets really good distance. Some time I get the drop and stop and on other shots the drop check roll.

Great ball though and on the closeout pricing worth the buy

The cover is really soft and I like the feel of irons and the putter.

It does seem to wear quick when hit with full wedge shots, but that can be said for most soft cover balls so it not really an issue for me.

The one thing I find odd is the conrol on swhort and chip shots. It is had to predict how the ball will react on the green for shot shorts and chips compared to the Prov1 and Nike Ones.

Similar Products Used:

Prov1, Nike One Plat, Willson Staff TX4

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 07, 2009]
CoachOk
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: hx tour 56

I have played these balls to the last couple of weeks, and have been a litte disappointed. I am not sure what my swing speed is but I know it is not very fast. I usually hit a driver around 250-260 and with the tour 56 I lost approx. 20 yards off the box. In my opinion, not the ball for slower swing speeds.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 12, 2008]
Scratch123456987
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Callaway HX Tour

Great ball for mid to low handicapers. With low spin and great ball flight off the driver it has amazing distance and accuracy. Great for the short game, can suck 2-3 feet back from 65 yards, Pro V1 only a foot. WAAAAAAYYY more durable than the Tour 56.

Similar Products Used:

Pro V1
Tour 56
Nike One Platinium

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 09, 2008]
Stud Maximus
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: HX Tour 56

A really nice ball! One of the longest I've ever hit. Climbs very high and keeps going and going. NOTE: My recent swing speed analysis with the Bridgestone reps has me at 110mph, so you slower swing speed guys, 70-90mph, may get better distance with a two piece ball. Super soft cover. Great for putting. The only downfall is that it's cover now looks like the world globe! Islands of peeled off areas, BUT, it doesn't effect the ball flight. A strange ball indeed. If you see these cheap, well worth the money.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

B330s, Pro V1, HX Hot Bite(w/o the distance).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 03, 2008]
SmoothBob
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Callaway HX Tour HX Tour 56 i/x

It seems that every ball is compared to the Pro V; but in reality there are many others that are BETTER. These Callaways are soft, softer, softest. These are as long as many premium balls, but these grab the greens like velcro. I can stop these on a dime with a 5,7 wood or 5 iron and under. Coming out of a bunker or a 50yd pitch these dance. And the Lord knows I've tried just about all balls.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Maxfli A10
Hogan Apex Tour
Bridgestone b330
Pro V
to name a few

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2008]
4setsofirons
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: HX Tour 56

I'm still looking for the ideal summer golf ball for me. The HX Tour/Tour 56 are pretty close but somehow not quite. Having said that I did play a couple of my best rounds in various courses with these babies. Hope these comparisons are useful and appreciate any feedback.

HX Tour 56 is very soft to the touch and putts soft with good distance control. Off the driver it's not as long as the HX Tour or Pro V1 or TP Black or NXT Tour or some of the two piece balls like Bridgestone E5+. It feels a little heavy off the driver face (lighter than NXT Tour, similar to ProV1, heavier than HX Tour), has a low trajectory and is prone to some unwanted driver side spin though not as much as the Pro V1.

My iron shots are not very consistent so won't comment on that except to say that it's on the short side.

Off the wedge, I find that my wedge shots were able to generate good spin on the ball but was surprised that Today's Golfer and Golf Magazine tests consistently show that the HX Tour/Tour 56 having 30% less spin rate than TP or ProV1 or Nike Platinum. On the contrary I found the Tour 56 to stop very well on the dry hard green (maybe due to the cover softness?), easily better than TP Black, Pro V1 or Platinum. The definite down side is that it shreds easily - worst of the lot. If I press my finger nail on the cover, I'm shock to see that it actually moves and generates a little ripple..... That probably indicates the softness and thinness of the cover which match my poor durability observation.

On a side note, Nike Platinum just doesn't suit my game. Very short off the driver (easily 15-30 yard), equally short off the irons and doesn't spin on wedge shots and putt like a rock - effectively contradicting most comparison data except the Feb08 Golf Magazine finding, that the Platinum is the shortest ball for swing speed of 90 mph. I use it mainly in an in between clubs situation:)

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

HX Tour, Pro V1, NXT Tour, TP Black, Bridgestone E5+, Nike Platinum.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 05, 2008]
david Seccombe
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: callaway hx tour 56

By far the best ball on the market. The ability to flop, chip and punch a ball and have it check up and stop is incredible. When I first saw this ball over a year ago I said "I hate the ball design with its wierd looking dimples." But then a year later I found one in a bush while looking for my Nike one Platinum. So I hit it off the next tee for the heck of it.. AND WOW. This ball has forgiveness like a cavity back club, but the spin you can create around the greens is fun to watch. I hit mizuno mp30 irons and this ball is the only ball that sounds and feels right of the club face. Its like your hitting a cube of butter off the tee! Someone who is a good ball striker should use this ball. Regardless of what swing speed or type of swing you have, one has to experience this ball. You will want to stop buying the ball you have been playing for years for this one..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 14, 2008]
Michael Williams
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Callaway HX Tour 56 balls

I reviewed the Callaway HX Hot golf ball a little over a year ago. I raved about it's distance.

I picked up a dozen Callaway HX Tour 56 balls at a local convenience store for $15...just to try them out. No more HX Hots! Clearly, the HX Tour 56 is a profoundly superior ball.

Compared to the Titleist DT SoLo ball I had recently been using (a decent, all-round ball....though I suppose most balls ARE round....), the Tour 56 flies on and on and ON...at least a 15 yard distance improvement on almost every drive and occasionally 25-35. I'm not making this up and hate it when people exaggerate the benefits of this or that. But, it is what it is (you're never wrong when you say that)...I can now keep up with my longer hitting, younger friends (I'm 57) and play the 6500 yard blue tees without feeling I'm giving up 5-7 strokes per round from the get go.

So how does the Tour 56 compare with the HX Hot? The Hot is indeed hot. I would guess that the 2 balls are about equal in terms of distance. But the Hot has the feel of a Hot Rock, whereas the 56 has a feel not unlike a ProV1...supple and resilient.

My short game is fairly week, but when I do nail an approach with good backspin, the ball quickly stops (I've never been able to spin any ball back). I could not say the same for the HX Hot.

I have to say that, mated with the Callaway FT-5 driver (10* with draw bias), the HX Tour 56 will be my ball of choice for a long time.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 06, 2008]
THEBEST!!
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: callaway hx tour 56

this ball is amazing it has great distace holds its line in the wind and the spin is just WOW! it outspins the new prov1 easily my most amount of backspin was 18 yards which is 54 feet and i can even spin back my 5 iron on the wet temp greens THIS BALL IS AMAZING!!

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used:

hx tour,ben hogan tour deep,tp red,prov1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2007]
louismfried
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: HX Tour 56

Excellent Ball. Played with the same ball for 18 holes. Soft feel and great spin on it. Good on the greens and from the tee box. A winner and definitely will stay in my bag.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com